Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-02-2013, 09:11 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
erikmoseley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,265
Tank swap question

I'm switching my 72 into my new 90 gallon. Same rocks and canister filters. Question is should I try and swap the sand over too or just get new stuff?
__________________

__________________
erikmoseley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:56 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Hammond, LA
Posts: 1,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by erikmoseley View Post
I'm switching my 72 into my new 90 gallon. Same rocks and canister filters. Question is should I try and swap the sand over too or just get new stuff?
Up to you but I would reuse the existing sand.
__________________

__________________
cbourg746 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:01 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Cichlid ism's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW burbs of Chicago
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbourg746 View Post

Up to you but I would reuse the existing sand.
I agree, why waste your money. You might need to add a little more since your getting a bigger tank.
__________________
Cichlid ism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
erikmoseley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,265
Yah you guys are right. I have half a bag lying around plus I will need to get it out eventually anyway. I think we are gonna do a turtle tank in it in the future. Plus it's aragonite and I really like the texture
__________________
erikmoseley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:47 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
A full swap will be easy. Just add a little more substrate and your good. Contain your fish in temporary 5g buckets or a big rubbermaid garbage can
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:54 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
erikmoseley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post
A full swap will be easy. Just add a little more substrate and your good. Contain your fish in temporary 5g buckets or a big rubbermaid garbage can
Thanks I have 3 25 gallon Rubbermaid containers ill be using so I can use water from current tank
__________________
erikmoseley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
Yes. Your best bet is to fill them all up with your tank water. Then move your fish there. Fill the 75g up with new water. Siphon all sand and water to new tank. Remove new water from 90g and add old water back. Thats how ive done it in the past
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:17 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
erikmoseley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwh0818 View Post
Yes. Your best bet is to fill them all up with your tank water. Then move your fish there. Fill the 75g up with new water. Siphon all sand and water to new tank. Remove new water from 90g and add old water back. Thats how ive done it in the past
Hmmm not sure how ill do that. They're going in same spot and I can't get the vacuum hose hooked to my sink. Was gonna empty it all move it then move new one in its spot and add all back. Your siphon sucks up your sand? Mine seems too week when I clean the tank
__________________
erikmoseley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:33 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jwh0818's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Harlingen, TX
Posts: 5,563
I use the aqueon connected to a water hose for extra force. My tanks 8 feet in the air so added down force can clean a 125g tank in 20 mins
__________________
Fluffy's History!
jwh0818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 07:05 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
erikmoseley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,265
So I'm planning this swap so it goes smooth as possible and have some more questions!

1. Do I have to have aeration? Right now I have a sponge filter that's been gurgling since this tank was set up and I'd like to ditch it! Its so loud! Do I need an air stone or something to oxygenate? I don't like bubble walls personally in African tank. I have two canisters with outlets pointed toward surface and I have two circulation pumps pointing one down toward front and one down toward back. This keeps the crud from sitting on sand. I have a spare aquaclear 50 hob I can also use to achieve the oxygenation I guess also. Ideally I don't want an air pump or a hob filter

In typing that I forgot what my other questions were! Ha
__________________

__________________
erikmoseley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.