Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 04-22-2013, 09:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

Thinking of 150 gallon african

I want to do a semi-aggressive African tank. I am a African rookie. I have only tried a couple peacocks in the past. I have had lots of South Americans, but from what I am reading it seems like a different world. I will just list some questions that I have been thinking of, then I will get to the stocking.

The pH in my other tanks (65g & 20g)is 7.2-7.4 and very stable, so I assume it is going to be the same with the new tank because I plan on using the same decorations(fake plants,creek rocks from my backyard,and black silica sand). Is that to low to keep them healthy and happy?

Is it best to keeps pairs for aggression problems? Or, will keeping one of each create more or less aggression?

Would a school of danio, or larger congos help or hurt?

Should I try to introduce them all as juveniles?

This is my stock idea.
4 different peacocks (all the same sex?)
1 yellow lab
1 compressiceps
8 Congo tetras
1 bichir
1 frontosa
1 Pleco
1 large cat fish

This tank will be in a basement bar. I am looking for a lot of color and activity, but I also want the fish to be pleasant, and not to aggressive. I also don't want a Mbuna, I am looking for more variety. If I could do that and fit a couple more peacocks that would be cool too.

Old 04-23-2013, 12:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

I have strictly african and notice keeping the same breed of fish either one or two groups together but yet i only have 20 and 30 g set up so bigger tank u can prob go with a few more variety of groups but i would suggest having more than just one of a kind try goin with 2-3 of each group and try minimize the male to female ratio like many suggest 1 male to 3 female well good luck