Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-14-2006, 01:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 454
Send a message via MSN to imrandome1
To spend or not to spend?

Well i have my new juwel tank its cycled and so on, anyway in my other tank i have a fluval filter it great, the filter in my juwel tank is in built its okay as its has a huge gallon per hour things and there is a hell of a current poor fish, but the water is never crystal clear, so do i buy at new fluval filter at £100.00 and use that even though i cant take the in built 1 out, or do i keep it, its not that great eg has no room for bio media and has a current that is crazy as well as being nosy so do i spend or dont spend on a new filter? any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
imrandome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 02:30 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to Squirt0170 Send a message via Yahoo to Squirt0170
What are your water levels testing out as?

How many fish are in your tank?

What kind of fish are they?

how long has your tank been set up?

How large is your tank per gallon?

You might not need a new filter... So at this time I wouldn't go spending that much money on a new one.
__________________

__________________
The BIGGER the tank the better!!

Check out my Website
http://www.myspace.com/michellesphilosophy
Squirt0170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 03:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 454
Send a message via MSN to imrandome1
the levels are fine, and so is the gallon per hour is fine, so atm i have 2 gourami and im going to get 3 angel fish and 1 bela shark soooo not much 4 a 50gallon tank, its just i like to have the water crystal clean i guess its me just being fussy, and i like the fluval filter more as in the design and bio media etc but im not sure if its worth the money.
__________________
imrandome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 03:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: St. Louis Missouri
Posts: 116
Send a message via MSN to Squirt0170 Send a message via Yahoo to Squirt0170
When you set up the tank was it cloudy before you added the fish or after? Do you have any plants?

When I first set up my tank I didn't get the gravel cleaned all the way and it was cloudy for awhile.. I even tried water clarifier and that didn't work. Could that also be the case in your tank? Also are the fish acting okay? the more water changes I did the more clear it became but it did take some time.
__________________
The BIGGER the tank the better!!

Check out my Website
http://www.myspace.com/michellesphilosophy
Squirt0170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 09:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Zagz's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 17,108
Send a message via MSN to Zagz
What model fluval do you have? Several of the fluvals have a flow control built in them.
__________________
AA Community Rules | AA TOS

-----------
Site Administrator
Zagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 04:09 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 454
Send a message via MSN to imrandome1
Quote:
What model fluval do you have? Several of the fluvals have a flow control built in them.
sorry if im not being clear, presently i have a juwel built in filter, and im thinking of getting a external fluval filter, i already got 1 extetnal fluval for my 30gal tank and it works great. Back to the 50gal built in one, its got a huge current for the fish and is nosy, not very effective and so on so i cant make my mind up if i should make the jump and buy a new fluval one for it, as i now they work a lot better! sorry if i was not clear.

Quote:
When you set up the tank was it cloudy before you added the fish or after? Do you have any plants?
Well it was at first but i now thats okay cuz it was cycling, then i added fish fine, then 2 weeks later its starting to get cloudy again, and yes there are live plants in it, would that effect it?

Btw Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 20 nothing can be done about that its in the tap water
__________________
imrandome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 12:58 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Redding, CT
Posts: 293
Send a message via AIM to exodus
I'd go and get it just because its noisy. I cant stand noisy filters, and canisters are far superior to "built in" ones.
__________________
Tanks:
55g - Planted/PFS - Up and running as of 4/30/06, heavily planted running 2x 175 metal halide, dry dosing.

lots of fish.
Royal pleco!!

10g Freshwater - Fake plants/PFS -
Breeding pair of convict cichlids purchased from the LFS I work at for $1.25
(best part is that I have a place to get rid of the fry!)
exodus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 03:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ashland KY
Posts: 1,918
Send a message via Yahoo to tropicfishman
you can lower your nitrates with purigen, Denitrate, lotso f medias if you use a cansiter filter, canisters are awesome beacuse you can customize your filtering
__________________
I love my clown loaches and red tail shark!!! lol
tropicfishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2006, 07:52 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 454
Send a message via MSN to imrandome1
yep im going to save ( im 16 takes like 2 weeks to get the money lol) and get it in the long run i think it will do the tank wonders, as weel as a better filter system and happy fish not having to swim in the crazy current. Thanks for all your help.!


I wish i could get my mum and dad into fish, but they could not care a less ( even though i have to tanks) it would just help as i have to pay for it all, so sharing the cost would be nice, garrr never mind lol just a random message sorry im bored lol.
__________________

__________________
imrandome1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You know you spend to much time on AA when... JDogg Aquaria Off-Topic 6 04-06-2007 12:41 AM
Help me spend $60 on ebay - what should I look for??? mardeebo Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 05-16-2005 03:54 PM
How much $$ do you you spend on CO2 in a year? hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 5 02-09-2005 04:46 PM
Boxing Day Sale! need advice before I spend, spend, spend!! Patwa Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 01-09-2004 05:50 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.