Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-09-2014, 09:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Joostrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 159
Using concrete in aquarium

Hey there guys, I just scored a 150 gallon aquarium for free filters and
__________________

__________________
Joostrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 09:30 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Joostrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 159
Oops.. And everything! So I'm placing it on my main floor. I will be bracing from the basement, For the weight. I want to make it as light as possible. So instead of have tons of real rocks to make caves I was thinking about creating my own caves out of concrete. What you guys think? Do you have any great ways to do it? I had thought about using styrofoam but I don't want to silicone it to the aquarium, I want to be able to move it around.
__________________

__________________
Joostrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2014, 11:32 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Freakgecko91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 4,399
Find the member Andrewmcfadden on here, he built an awesome one for his 180. He used styrofoam and grout I believe
__________________
Freakgecko91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 03:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
squirrilah fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,349
There are tons of DIY tank decor using Home repair supplies and such, online and on here. and can be pretty cheap.
__________________
squirrilah fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Anthonysafricans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: staten island, new york
Posts: 583
I would even say buy cichlid stone on Dr fosters

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Anthonysafricans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2014, 05:29 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
squirrilah fish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,349
Using concrete in aquarium

I have 20 Cichlid stones. Love em. Very light weight. http://youtu.be/BVOrlnR4FcE
__________________

__________________
squirrilah fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aquarium

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can you use concrete blocks as an aquarium stand? dlwn88 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 38 02-23-2011 03:22 AM
Concrete in Aquarium? metrov Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 10-16-2008 02:10 PM
Concrete Block in aquarium?? absoluteincubus Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 06-26-2008 01:00 PM
Concrete Stand. William DIY Projects 5 04-26-2004 10:12 PM
Are concrete fixtures safe in a FW aquarium? :?: MrDaytona DIY Projects 3 02-18-2004 02:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.