Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Cichlid Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-21-2011, 01:09 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Jktrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Whats better gravel or sand

I was just wondering what would be better sand or gravel at the moment I got gravel but I think sand looks better and if sand how do I change it with out harming my fish
__________________

__________________
Jktrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 01:31 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lady_Alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
I think it comes down to personal preference. I've got gravel in 2 tanks and sand in 3. In my frontosa tank I had sand then gravel and now I'm back to sand. I think they like sifting through the sand more.
__________________

__________________
Lady_Alia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bl80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Posts: 576
Def sand. After I finally switched, I'll never go back. Easier to clean and the fish love it!!!!
__________________
"Why does Sea World have a sea food restaurant?? I am half way thru my fish burger when I realize, OMG I could be eating a SLOW LEARNER!!" ~Lynda Montgomery
Bl80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 02:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lady_Alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bl80
Def sand. After I finally switched, I'll never go back. Easier to clean and the fish love it!!!!
I couldn't agree more. (but I was trying to be a little more objective....jeesh lol
__________________
Lady_Alia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 03:35 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Jktrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lady_Alia

I couldn't agree more. (but I was trying to be a little more objective....jeesh lol
How do u change it do I take the fish out and the water
__________________
Jktrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:45 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lady_Alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jktrain

How do u change it do I take the fish out and the water
Well that I'm not sure about. I would put the fish in a tote and switch out the substrate and let the filter run till the water is clear then return fish. But I would wait and see if someone else has a better way.
__________________
Lady_Alia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:51 AM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 778
I did this for my 10g tank. What I did was...

1. Take water out and put in another tank or bucket with filter on it.
2. KEEP FILTER MEDIA WET WITH TANK WATER so your benificial bacteria doesn't die!!!
3. Take all gravel out
4. Rinse sand extremely well
5. Put sand in tank and add water. You can use half old water and half new water to act as a water change.
6. Wait 2-8 hours for water to settle.
7. Put filter back on after water has settled.
8. Add fish and tank ornaments and plants ect.

*edit* if you plan on leaving your filter on the tank, make sure its off or the sand will get sucked up causeing your filter to mess up
__________________
o.jonathan.o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:55 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Lady_Alia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 811
Sounds great! But I would change one thing....rinse the sand before moving fish. Sand rinsing is time consuming. No point in stressing fish while ur rinsing sand.
__________________
Lady_Alia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:56 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Spoor3773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 143
Empty all the fish into a large container and keep as much water as possible. Scoop all the old substrate out and place the new in the tank after rinsing. I did this with my Malawi set up and the fish and tank looks great. Try not to turn the filter on or return the fish to the tank until the water has settled down, this could take a few hours so leave plenty of time before starting this.

P.s. Make sure to place filter in water with fish whilst in container to keep the good bacteria ticking over.
__________________
Spoor3773 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2011, 10:57 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 778
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lady_Alia
Sounds great! But I would change one thing....rinse the sand before moving fish. Sand rinsing is time consuming. No point in stressing fish while ur rinsing sand.
Well yes I have to agree. I was just making sure all the steps were there
__________________

__________________
o.jonathan.o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gravel, gravel or sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gravel or Sand? graphicpunk Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 09-17-2011 04:07 PM
Gravel vs. sand Rosebud Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 09-01-2011 10:08 PM
change over from gravel to sand fadetoblack06 Show Off/Photography 3 08-08-2011 01:28 PM
Sand - the right one for my aquarium Ann7667 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-28-2011 01:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.