2.5 gallon questions...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

liljosh609

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok, so I'm new to saltwater aquariums and I have decided to start out small with a 2.5 gallon nano reef. I have a 55 gallon with African cichlids, but I wanted to see how a marine setup would be. I purchased 5 lbs of Carib sea, a 10 gallon filter (HOB), and some sea salt. I also have some test strips. As for lighting, I ordered the coralife 11" dual fixture which has a 10,000k daylight and an actinic light as well for coral. Together they amount to 12 watts. So here are the questions...
-What kind of corals are cheap, hardy, low on aggression, and easy to grow, as well as look cool?
-This is probably stupid, but after the tank is established and I need to add water due to evaporation, do I just add freshwater since the salt doesn't leave the tank?
-What kind of fish could I get? Would a Goby work, or more preferable, a clown fish?
-Finally, how much harder is it going to be than freshwater? What are the big things to look out for?
Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

liljosh609 said:
Ok, so I'm new to saltwater aquariums and I have decided to start out small with a 2.5 gallon nano reef. I have a 55 gallon with African cichlids, but I wanted to see how a marine setup would be. I purchased 5 lbs of Carib sea, a 10 gallon filter (HOB), and some sea salt. I also have some test strips. As for lighting, I ordered the coralife 11" dual fixture which has a 10,000k daylight and an actinic light as well for coral. Together they amount to 12 watts. So here are the questions...
-What kind of corals are cheap, hardy, low on aggression, and easy to grow, as well as look cool?
-This is probably stupid, but after the tank is established and I need to add water due to evaporation, do I just add freshwater since the salt doesn't leave the tank?