24 gallon tank build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

M1cky69

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am moving my thread here as I kinda named the thread very shocking lol!

Hi guys well I'm a noob to saltwater fish and decided best way to start is by going small, although parameters need checking more often ect the cost is low if I don't get it right.

Here is a list of things I have/on its way

A Kent nano bioreef 94l tank including power head, 200w heater, protein skimmer and 3 stage filter.
A hydor koralia 900 as an additional power head.
Hydrometer
Thermometer
Api Saltwater master test kit

Things I still need to get are live rock, live sand/coral and fish.

Going to take this project nice and slow being a noob and wanted some advice.

1. Is the list I got any good?

2. How much live rock will be needed for this size tank if live sand is used?

There is no reason to have a uv sterilizer on your tank. Figure about 1 to 1.5 lbs of rock per gallon. MMMM so about 12 to 15kg?? I am not to good with conversions. What kind of light does your tank come with most cubes in USA comes with compact fluorescent if so the corals would be very limited. The vortech is a very nice power head.

joy13 said:
There is no reason to have a uv sterilizer on your tank. Figure about 1 to 1.5 lbs of rock per gallon. MMMM so about 12 to 15kg?? I am not to good with conversions. What kind of light does your tank come with most cubes in USA comes with compact fluorescent if so the corals would be very limited. The vortech is a very nice power head.

The lighting is designed for reef as they are twin t5 high output with 6x1watt marine white LEDs and 4x0.5wall marine blue LEDs as extra. Would this lighting be ok for most corals? The tank is actually a reef nano do I'm guessing it would be ok otherwise they couldn't sell it under that name.