6 gal Eclipse set up for total newbie to SW

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Deitta

Aquarium Advice Activist
Finally I have found out that my hubby will be more willing to let me get a really big tank (150+ gal) if it is a salt water. I do have at least 6 months before we would move to a home that could handle a tank that big. Before I comitt my 29 gal to SW (not sure SW is for me yet) I thought maybe I could set the 6 gal Eclipse up with some LR, LS maybe a goby and a shrimp or two.
I really have no real clue about SW, but think I have the FW pretty much down.
So... What do I need to do to get a 6 gal SW?
1) what do I need to buy? what quanties of LR and LS?
2) water temp normally is 75ish, do I need a heater? What size heater for a tank this small?
3) How does cycling differ from fresh water? Can I buy bacteria like I can for FW?
4) What are the parameters for what I am hoping to do?
EEK, help! 8O

what do I need to buy? what quanties of LR and LS?
the first thing you should buy is a good book on SW aquariums. I recommend "The Conscientious Marine Aquarist" by Robert Fenner. 1.5-2lbs per gal of LR and a 3-4inch sand bed should give you great biological filtration.
water temp normally is 75ish, do I need a heater? What size heater for a tank this small?
Most here keep their SW tanks at 78-80 degrees. One 50 watt heater should be fine, depending on the size of tank.
How does cycling differ from fresh water? Can I buy bacteria like I can for FW?
Different bacteria. It just takes time to cycle. There are really no short-cuts. Do not waste your money on those "cycling" addatives like Bio-Spira or anything similar. Spend the mney on more LR instead.
What are the parameters for what I am hoping to do?
You can learn all about in the book you buy. The basics...Ph, ammonia, nitrite, nitrate, SG, temp to start.