Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Nano Reefs
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-12-2013, 07:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MikeGio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 127
Algae growing on glass at ridiculous rate.

I have green/brown algae fully growing on my glass probably hours after I use the mag float what could be causing this?, I probably use the mag 2x-3x a day.
__________________

__________________
MikeGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:16 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Your nutrient levels must be high. You'll have to find the source of your nutrient problem to solve the issue.
__________________

__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MikeGio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858 View Post
Your nutrient levels must be high. You'll have to find the source of your nutrient problem to solve the issue.
Tested for ammonia, nitrates, all normal. Led lights so I don't think it could be that. Weekly changes.
__________________
MikeGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:27 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
You'll never get the nitrate readings as long as the algae is there since it will mask the test by using it all up as its produced. Phosphates are the next if not the biggest problem in SW. Once again to get accurate enough testing of it can be difficult and to get the best most usable reading you'll need a digital tester like the Hannah checker. Try running some chemi pure elite or maybe even just some pure GFO for a few weeks/months and that should solve the issue for the most part. What's your filtration? Ro/Di water? Light schedule? Feeding schedule? Water change schedule? All these play a part in the equation which is why you'll here people say what works for one won't work for another always. Every little detail plays its part in the big picture so even identical equipment won't always give the same results.
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:40 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MikeGio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858 View Post
You'll never get the nitrate readings as long as the algae is there since it will mask the test by using it all up as its produced. Phosphates are the next if not the biggest problem in SW. Once again to get accurate enough testing of it can be difficult and to get the best most usable reading you'll need a digital tester like the Hannah checker. Try running some chemi pure elite or maybe even just some pure GFO for a few weeks/months and that should solve the issue for the most part. What's your filtration? Ro/Di water? Light schedule? Feeding schedule? Water change schedule? All these play a part in the equation which is why you'll here people say what works for one won't work for another always. Every little detail plays its part in the big picture so even identical equipment won't always give the same results.
Only Ro water, led lights are on 8-2, then just blue till 430. Feed every otherday, fish usually eat everything and whatever drops peppermint shrimp attack. Aquaclear 20 filter, plus 2 powerheads in a 6 gallon.

I was just looking at my RO water and the container it's in had smelly brown algae in it, can that be it?

Thank u for the advice
__________________
MikeGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 07:43 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrc8858's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5,834
Maybe. Do you have a TDS meter to test your RO water? Your cartridges may be depleted meaning your getting bad stuff from your source water. How old are the filters?
__________________
Mrc8858 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:04 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
MikeGio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrc8858 View Post
Maybe. Do you have a TDS meter to test your RO water? Your cartridges may be depleted meaning your getting bad stuff from your source water. How old are the filters?
No I purchase to water. The container I put the water in had algae in it.
__________________

__________________
MikeGio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, glass

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.