Am I in the wrong?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

herp_mommy

Aquarium Advice Addict
ok, I'm new to saltwater and I'm doing a fish-in cycle for my 4gal nano. I know, I know. But I figured it would be safer in such a small tank since I can do 25% wc daily without it being too much of a hassle. I've got a small goby and a scooter dragonet (who has plenty of pods) as well as a few hermit crabs. Right now my levels are: NH3 0ppm, NO2 0ppm, NO3 2ppm, sg 1.021, pH 7.6. I realize the pH is a little low, but I'm not sure how to raise it without buying a chemical additive. If everybody insists on me returning the fish, I will, but I think at these levels they're doing ok. Once the tank completes its cycle, I'd like to switch to dwarf seahorses.

That scooter will have to go. It first of all will need way more pods than a 4g can ever muster and it will grow too big. I just broke down my 4g pico and I kept only a clown goby in it and lots and lots of coral.

I have a scooter and it literally took me months to wean him off pod, i also have him in a 29g tank with a fuge for the pods to grow. He is now eating bloodworms and pods and getting quite fat. Mine is laready at least 3 inches long so thats the reason the tank is too small.

if you really wanna keep the goby then I would monitor the tank daily for ammonia and nitrites. Both of which are deadly as I'm sure you know. especially in a small tank things can go south in a hurry.

Not sure about the ph as it is very low, do you have any circulation on the top of the water? that helps raise the ph. I used plain old black fine sand and never had a ph issue.