Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Nano Reefs
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-02-2005, 10:01 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: St. Augustine/Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 648
Send a message via Yahoo to Florida8
Best substrate/sand & depth for nano?

I used CC in the 55g but have heard a sand bed is better for the nano... and all tanks really. So which brand & how deep should the bed be?

TIA,
Kimberly
__________________

__________________
Florida8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2005, 10:46 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Winnipeg,Manitoba,CANADA
Posts: 398
Send a message via MSN to arminkropp
I'm no expert but as far as I know pretty much any aragonite based sand will do pretty good. I used Caribsea aragamax select, others used tropical playsand from home depot. the latter is cheaper.
I'd say about 1-1.5 inches in a nano.
__________________

__________________
arminkropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 08:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
Goodsand suggestions. I put about 20lbs in my 12gal nanocube. Sand bed is about 3in deep.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2005, 09:17 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 168
2 to 3 inches deep is more than enough, the deeper the bed, the longer it will take to activate, throw in some sand from an already well established system to help it along. Remember, live sand takes an awful long time to become "live", in excess of a year, don't be fooled by the surface of it, that happens quickly but it does not mean you have live sand, do not disturb it if possible. arminkropp suggested Caribsea aragamax select, excellent suggestion, it is very good, nice and porous.
__________________
Don't tap on the glass, the fish will think you are stupid!!
something_fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nano, sand, substrate

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
appropriate substrate depth lmetcalf Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 12 09-10-2009 09:08 PM
substrate depth for apisto's justrelax Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-12-2006 06:35 PM
10gal Substrate Depth richiestang_78 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 05-12-2006 11:50 PM
Substrate depth in your tank, and why. LAGlocker Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 11-28-2005 02:16 PM
depth of substrate JohnnyOneBeat Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 10-05-2003 02:33 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.