Brown algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thechoof1968

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Brown algae on sansbed

Hi newbie here,have problem with my fluval m90 30 gallon tank
Stock 2 koralia 900 powerheads,stock 1200 lph return,stock 2800 lph pump total 5800 lph.temperature 75 degrees,ph 8.0,nitrates 5ppm,ammonia 0ppm,nitrite 0ppm,phos around 0.1 I think is higher using api test kit,calcium 465,magnesium 1365,I have carib sea sugar fine sand around 1.5 inches deep but I am having problems with brown algae,if I sift the top within hours it's back again.i have stock led lighting which is 35 watts in total which I run for 6 hours a day. Now brown algae is on pumps and cable as well

Just added phosban 150 reactor with rowaphos,tunze 9002 skimmer,filter floss,purigen

STOCK
6 chromis
2 clown fish
1 royal gramma
1 blue checked gobie
1 sand sifting star fish (new)
3 turbo snails
10 hermit crabs
5 nassarius snails
2 cerith snails

Snails love it! Had some on my rocks and glass before, goes away on it's own and with help of snails / otos..

Actually I see that you said it's three months old, so maybe not. Can you post a picture?

And also, it is against the forum rules to post threads in different sections about the same thing. If you're not getting the information you need, try adding more detail or post a picture.

I have 30 lbs carib sea sugar fine sound not live sand sift it over night looks great then when lights come on it goes brown.i will post pics tomorrow

Sorry new to all this.as stated I will try and post pic tomorrow after the lights come on.you can see a difference after 45 minutes or so.ive cut back feeding to once a day and I am running phosban 150 reactor with rowaphos