Feeding my corals

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ttharo69

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi
I am new to this, but here goes, have been keeping a marine nano aquarium for some time now( years) but the corals I get don't seem to survive past 6 months or so, started feeding them now on marine snow, is this sufficient for them? Will post some pictures of the ones I have now, appreciate any help from anyone out there, many thanks.

What type of corals do you have? Look at your water parameters to see if that is what might be killing your corals.

Most of the commercial foods will raise your nitrates. Most corals are photosnthetic. I know that when you clean your glass most corals will eat the algae that comes from that and when you feed your fish they will get a little food that way. One person said if they could figure out a way to manufacture fish poop that is the best coral food known.

Thanks for your reply, will post a picture of my corals as they are looking good right now, and I am keen to keep them this way

One thing you want to research is dipping corals before adding any new corals to your tank. Getting rid of pests in an established tank can be difficult since they can go unnoticed. One of my tanks got flatworms when I was starting out, now I dip everything.

Hi this photo shows the polyp coral on the left that is not doing so great, and the other two are relatively new additions, any help is very much appreciated.
Helen

Attachments

• image-3621593788.jpg
    image-3621593788.jpg
    68.7 KB · Views: 153
joy13 said:
One thing you want to research is dipping corals before adding any new corals to your tank. Getting rid of pests in an established tank can be difficult since they can go unnoticed. One of my tanks got flatworms when I was starting out, now I dip everything.