First saltwater tank advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nazsenchuk

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone! I've been keeping freshwater fish and plants for about 5 years and I always liked how saltwater tanks looked and I thought I would buy myself a 3 gallon picotope. It comes with a 50 or 40gph hob filter and i want to add an aqua clear and if the filter it comes with is a bit loud I might just go with a slightly bigger aqua clear. Any recommended size of filter I should use? I'm not going to use a power head. Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

If you're looking for quiet, search for The Quiet One. I forget who makes it. Super quiet though.

That's a power head right?

I saw some on ebay for an unnamed company that puts out 50gph and one that puts out 80 for 5$. I'm on an extremely small budget:/

What are your plans for the tank? When I'm told that things are on a small budget, I usually say save up as you continue to plan out everything that you'll need.
It is possible to get away with only a HOB filter on the tank since it is only 3 gallons...but that will depend on what you are going to do with it.

By on a budget I mean I can spend as much as I want but I want to save as much money as possible

I'm planning on having It be a reef tank

I'm planning on having It be a reef tank

Well, reef tanks are all about stable parameters and lighting. Thankfully, water changes make keeping parameters stable easy.
Most of your money will be spent on lighting. I'm not sure what could go over a pico to support corals besides a PAR 38 bulb in all honesty.
But since you want to keep coral, you will want to have a small powerhead in the system as corals need decent flow, all depending on what type of coral you want to keep.