First time saltwater tank on a budget?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pcas3

Aquarium Advice Regular
It's my first time going saltwater. I have had success in fresh but am looking for a more advanced aquarium. I'm thinking about doing a nano tank. I would like some guidance on size and equipment. I understand the difficulty of nano tanks but money is a major factor. Any feedback will be appreciated!

We're you looking to do a reef or just fowlr? And what size? And do you have a dedicated marine lfs near you that can sell you ro/di water?

Thanks for the response I would like to do a reef nothing advanced maybe some mushrooms don't want to get in over my head. And yes there is a great lfs right down the road from me. And I'm not sure what size I know the smaller size the more limited I am. I was thinking 10 gallon but didn't know if I would need a protein skimmer with that

You don't need a skimmer for that. You can just mod an aqua clear filter for a 10 gallon.

Ya you don't need a skimmer what I would get is (actually have just set this up 3 months ago)
Ac 70 hob filter $60
Korilia nano 240 (I use 2 but not necessary for softies) $25
75w heater $20
8-12 lbs of of rock (live or base) $50 ish and $30 ish respectively
10-20 lbs of sand $20
And now we have lighting, to many options to list but I'm pretty sure reefkoi.com still has there par38 bulbs on sale for $60, that's what I'm using and I like it. You will be able to keep softies and pretty much any lps with it

Yes, par38 bulbs are the best for a nano on a budget. However, if you want to spend more, which you probably don't, there is nano box reef which makes amazing nano led lights.

There are also mods for the aquaclear filter at intank media basket.