FW oldie, SW newbie....gathering information

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newfound77951

Aquarium Advice Addict
I've kept FW tanks for a long time, and am a regular poster in the FW forums....but now kinda have the itch to do a SW tank (you gotta love MTS). This all started when I acquired a 15 watt fluorescent strip for a 10 gallon tank....and started thinking what I could put UNDER that strip (how's that for convoluted thinking).

I'm considering doing a 10 gallon fish and live rock (not reef) tank....wasn't sure whether or not to post here or in the FOWLR forum but thought the nano nature of the tank probably outweighed the fish-only part. Again, I'm a relative newbie to SW but I've been doing some research. (Oh, and I'm an oceanographer so I have a pretty good handle on water chemistry). What would i need for a basic setup for some LR, some hermits, maybe a shrimp, and 1 or 2 small, hardy fish (damsel or goby maybe). How much live sand/rock? What type of filter? Do I need a skimmer? Powerhead? How big? What additives would I need to add to the water to keep everyone happy, or is that just a reef thing? (I'm a FW planted person so I'm used to adding nutrients and stuff to my tanks to prevent deficiencies).

I'd love to hear from folks who've set up a tank in this size range, what worked and what didn't. I'm also looking to keep this relatively inexpensive, but I'll get what I have to get.

Thanks!