GouramiLover's Nano Reef Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GouramiLover

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Let me just start this off by saying I am new to saltwater. I KNOW I am going to make mistakes on this build, but I hope with advice from experienced reef keepers I can keep my mistakes to a minimum.

I am an experienced freshwater keeper, so I know basic things like maintaining water quality, not to overstock, be patient with cycling, and do your research first. I will need help to clear up some confusion I have about certian things I have researched like lighting and cycling a saltwater tank.

This build is starting from scratch, so here is what I have...

5 Gallon rimless tank (freebie)
Appropriate Heater (one of my many extras)
Aquaclear 50 (I already have it so I want to use it, ***is this enough circulation? too much circulation?)
sand
thermometer
5 gallon bucket for keeping premixed "top off" and water changes
air pump and ai stone for bucket
heater for bucket

Alright, these are the basic starter items I need...

refractometer (***more accurate and preferred for nano salt tanks...right?)
salt
live rock
light
test kit for saltwater (I have an API test kit for my fresh tanks, ***can I use any of those tests for the salt tank? like pH test?)

Please let me know if I am missing anything that I need now to start the cycle in a day or so.

Alright, now additional questions:

1.) can I start the cycle with sand and live rock in the tank and a blister of frozen brine shrimp in a net bag (1.5 teaspoon)?