Khuligirl's 20 long nano reef build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Khuligirl93

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hey everyone:) so I've been asking advice in bits and pieces in various threads, but I'd like to consolidate everything here. Just to summarize my journey as an aquarist; I've been keeping freshwater tanks for 8 years, the past few years really getting into planted tanks. Recently I got a job at a local aquarium store and fell in love with the color and character of saltwater fish and corals and the specific and unique niches that each one occupies. Over the past couple weeks I've been gradually accumulating my supplies, clearing a space for a tank, researching, and mentally preparing myself;) Now that I have the majority of my supplies, I want to share the process of creating my first reef tank, be able to ask questions as they come up, and of course share lots of pictures :)

Equipment:
-20 long ($32)
-AquaClear70 HOB filter ($47)
-2 Jebao WP10 powerheads (~$36 each)
-30 lbs of caribsea aragonite sand (3, 10lb bags at ~$9 each)
-40 lbs base rock (+small piece live)-still need to get.
-Tao panel 120w reef LED ($84 on eBay)- still need to get.

This is what it looks like so far:

http://i1277.photobucket.com/albums...8-B926-4AE2-B844-908BE2C267A8_zpsynxzdyym.jpg
Thanks for following!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I'm going to watch! I am thinking that my next tank will be like this. *gets popcorn and pulls up a chair*

Ok, I got it filled with tap water to test for leaks and am running the AquaClear to test it out. It was making a loud buzzing sound until I used a stack of notecards to prop it up on the back side to make it level. http://i1277.photobucket.com/albums...0-CC80-421C-82E2-2DA065D66447_zpsuuw3igoy.jpg