My husband is going to kill me... pico journal

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

umramgirl86

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok, so I have a 20 gallon planted freshwater tank as well as a beta tank. I've been reading a lot about pico reef tanks, and I'd love to start one. My husband does not share my passion and thinks I should just be happy with my two tanks, but as most if you fish enthusiasts know, it's a hobby and I want more!

I've thought about getting a 5-6 gallon tank, sand and live rock to start. I know I have to cycle the tank and I know I can't really put any fish in (except maybe a goby or shrimp) and I'm okay with that as I am mostly building toward a reef and then after I get experience, I will do a bigger one with fish layer. But, as I am a beginner, I don't know what else I need. What do I need to get to get started? This will be a slow process. I hope to pick up my equipment tonight and my live rock next week. Any help I can get is well appreciated. Stay tuned if you want to see pictures as I progress...

No you wouldn't need a skimmer just regular water changes. Just know with a tank that small it going to be hard for someone with no reefing experience to keep healthy. I wouldn't recommend starting with anything less than a 20g. But that being said its all up to you and how dedicated and disciplined you are with water changes and maintenance.

Oh and to get started your would need live rock, sand,heater,the smallest power head you can find ,salt mix ;hydrometer/refractometer, reef test kit. and a light capable of supporting corals there are some nice small clip on LED"s that would be ideal.

You could probably loose the power head and get a small hob filer and take the media out fill it with live rock rubble and stash your heater in it