New 29 Gallon Tank! Stocking question and more!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gobullschi

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all!! I am new to the saltwater fish hobby. I have a 29 Gallon Nano Cube HQI and attached a HOB-1 Protein Skimmer to the tank as well. I’ve had the tank for about a year and am just now adding coral and fish to the tank.

I attached Pictures of my tank below

Anyways…Yesterday I went to the fish store to browse…I told the employees that I was looking for either a colorful fish or something unique. One of the employees jumped up, pulled me to a tank, and told me I should get a White Ribbon Eel.

I told him that I thought my tank was too small for eels and that because I am new to the hobby I should just keep more hardy fish. He told me that he has a White Ribbon eel in his 29 gallon tank and it is doing very well and has had 0 problems. The eel is freaking BEAUTIFUL. Probably the coolest thing I could ever imagine going in my tank!!!

I told him that I thought the eel was too big (it’s about 16”) and he told me the eel can get up to 40”!!! but that the eel mainly curls up in rocks and that it probably won’t get that big either. I then said I heard it’s hard to feed. He told me this wasn’t true either…dropped a piece of a shiner in the tank and the eel came right out and grabbed it.

The other employee then showed me some puffer fish. I told him I have corals and read that they can’t go in reefs. He said it would be fine.