newwwwwwwwbie

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

zephyr

Aquarium Advice Freak
i've never tried a nano reef before, but now i have the time and money, i'd really like to give it a shot.

i've been on the site www.nano-reef.com and read through their articles,
it suggests natural filtration using living rock, living sand and powerheads to purify the water of ammoinia/nitrates (http://www.nano-reef.com/articles/?article=3)

this sounds fantastic, but also i wonder if it is sufficent..?
could anyone give me a hand?

i'm planning on a 10gallon, btw

If your planning on doing a ten gallon, then i would go ahead and just get the NanoCube Deluxe 12. It's rated at twelve gallons but the sump area in the back takes up about two so the actuall tank itself is about ten gallons. Also, live rock is the best filtration i've found along with live sand. With the nano-cube you wont have to have powerheads on either side of your tank because it already has one built into it. I've upgraded my powerhead and seen some better results but the stock pump is fine.

hard to say when i dont know... are there any local fish stores near where you live that ylu could go to and ask?

Order it off the internet, shipping might be expensive but check out marinedepot.com and check out the prices. HTH

Nano Cubes are great. If you can't find one though, a 10 gallon with alot of Liverock and circulation will suffice, yes. If you use tap water or want to house corals, I would reccomend a small skimmer as well. Many people run sw tanks with no mechanical filtration at all, simply powerheads, lr, and ls.

I live in Australia too, and I bought a similar model to the nanocubes. Its called a "Boyu"- not sure if its that trusted but seemed to work well for me. I know that in Melbourne all the LFS sell Jebo nano tanks.