Starting a 12gal Nanopod

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

DRoy1124

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello, this is my first post on AA so be nice :lol:

My brother has a 55 gal SW tank with tons of live rock, fish, cool plants, etc. I've been admiring it for about 2 years now. So i decided to go out and try to start one myself. I bought the 12gal nanopod becuase i thought it was an all around good deal and a great size. I bought live sand and put in the tank with good ole tap water with some de-chlor in it. The water temperature is around 79 degrees, so im good on that. My 3 lights are all set on timers, so that should be pretty awesome. What is the next thing i should do? I believe i am ready to begin the "cycle". My brother said i could take some of his live rock and put it in my tank, and he told me to buy 1 or 2 clown fish to start off with becuase they are "hardy" fish and can withstand the tanks first cycle. Is this correct? could you guys give a newbie some advice on how to start the cycle properly and fast? Thanks a ton.

David

Do the fish a favor and wait untill after your cycle to put them in. If you get established live rock and some live sand to seed your sandbed then your cycle should be limited or non existant. once it is set up throw a cocktail shrimp or two in there and let them rot up. Testing your water periodically to see what your parameters are. when ammonia and nitrite are undetectable and your nitrates start to rise then do a PWC and you are ready to stock. a word of warning though, you will not be able to stock many fish in that tank. In fact I would only recomend one and maybe 2 if they are small and stay small.

No that is not correct. Please read the article on fishless cycle. Dont subject your fish to that type of punishment.

Really now-