Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Nano Reefs
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 12-09-2011, 06:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Too small for seahorses?

I am a complete newbie to owning marine life, but my Mom has always wanted seahorses and I recently discovered one place in my city that sells them and supplies for them. So I was thinking getting her a set-up for Christmas would be kind of awesome (but not the actual seahorses as I will make her do some research first). I'm the kind of person who refuses to get a pet before knowing everything about their PROPER care and I dispise pet stores for being so misleading.

So here is what the pet store has told me they have as far as sea horses and sea horse supplies go (sadly, there is NOT a lot of choices or selection):

A "Seahorse Stable" set-up which includes:
-7.8 gallon tank with glass top
-Salt supply
-Filter with media
-Aqua light with bulb
-Heater
-Floating hyrdometer/thermometer
-Crushed coral
-3 Marine steps/reef effects (for maintaing proper tank chemistry)

They only sell the basic large seahorse species (didn't catch the scientific name, but it's the least exotic one, if that helps - they only only come in yellow).

They also sell live and frozen food for them.

But that is all they have as far as their seahorse supplies go. Now 7.8 gallons seems a little small to me, but apparently a lot of people out there keep seahorses in these sizes of tanks with no issues???

There would be 2 sea horses at most, no more. Can they be kept alone or is a bonded pair a must? What about sexes, are same sexes okay? I don't really want breeding.

And no other species kept in this tank (except maybe a snail or two for clean up). I think it also comes with hitching areas too, at least they had some in the tank