Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-18-2012, 12:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
swtric85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 74
0 Nitrites but high nitrates?

How can I have 0ppm nitrites but 40 to 80ppm Nitrates? My PH is good and ammonia is at 0ppm but I can't get my nitrates to drop. I've done water changes, used nitrate reducer, and have been feeding less. Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
swtric85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 12:09 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by swtric85
How can I have 0ppm nitrites but 40 to 80ppm Nitrates? My PH is good and ammonia is at 0ppm but I can't get my nitrates to drop. I've done water changes, used nitrate reducer, and have been feeding less. Any suggestions?
Nitrates are the end result of the cycle. The only way to effectively remove them is through water changes.

Having 0 ammonia and nitrites is what your suppose to have. Nitrate reducers do no remove nitrate, they only make it less toxic. You need to do more or larger waterchanges.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 12:28 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hocky puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 293
What about those nitate removers? Don't know anything about them slow flow and anaerobic metabolism? Also heard of a DIY one using vodka been thinking bout these for awhile reading this thread jus sparked it agian thanks
__________________
Hocky puck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 12:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
swtric85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 74
Thank for the replies, I have been doing 25-40% water changes every week for about 3 months and the nitrate level won't go below 40ppm. I've had the tank a little over a year and never had a nitrate problem until about 4 months ago. Everything else stays at 0
__________________
swtric85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 12:45 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by swtric85
Thank for the replies, I have been doing 25-40% water changes every week for about 3 months and the nitrate level won't go below 40ppm. I've had the tank a little over a year and never had a nitrate problem until about 4 months ago. Everything else stays at 0
What size tank? Whats stock? And how much are you feeding?
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 01:09 PM   #6
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,546
Are you using tap water? Tap water alone can supply the nitrates and phosphates that cause issues in our tanks.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 01:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sniperhank
Are you using tap water? Tap water alone can supply the nitrates and phosphates that cause issues in our tanks.
+1 check source water
__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 02:40 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Try a new test kit mine went bad almost over night 10ppm 3 days later it read over 100
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 02:54 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
swtric85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wesley Chapel, FL
Posts: 74
It's a 25gal with a clownfish, fancy shrimp, hermit crab, and LR. I didn't want to add anything else until I get the nitrates out. I feed the clownfish a very small amount once a day. I've tested the source water and it was good.
__________________
swtric85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2012, 03:07 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
danbstrong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by swtric85
It's a 25gal with a clownfish, fancy shrimp, hermit crab, and LR. I didn't want to add anything else until I get the nitrates out. I feed the clownfish a very small amount once a day. I've tested the source water and it was good.
Normally water changes take care of nitrate issues what about reactor with biopellits is this an option?
__________________

__________________
danbstrong is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
high nitrate, high nitrates, nitrates, nitrites

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.