10 gallon reef

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ej_b1996

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am new to reef aquariums but I wanted to start one
But all I've got is a 10 gallon tank
What else would I need to get?
Trying to pay as little as possible
So could you guys give me any links to where I can find all the things I need for a low price?

IMO you're setting yourself up for failure. 10 gallon is hard enough (unless you're doing plenty of WCs) for someone with experience let alone someone just jumping into it. Best thing I can tell you is research as much as your brain can handle. A short list of things to know about would be lighting, filtration (possibly skimming), types of corals you want to keep, and heating. A good book I've used is "The conscientious marine aquarist" by Robert Fenner, it covers much of the hobby.

Not saying it's not doable, but Sterling is correct..... pico reefs are actully much harder to maintain for a true beginner.

While I know you may want to keep costs down, "cheap" is a relative term in the reef world (see my signature ;)) . What kind of budget are we seriously talking about?

Well right now I actually have no budget so I guess just trying to keep the price as low as possible to start off
And ya I know about the frequent water changes
And also
Are protein skimmers actually necessary?

Ej_b1996 said:
Well right now I actually have no budget so I guess just trying to keep the price as low as possible to start off
And ya I know about the frequent water changes
And also
Are protein skimmers actually necessary?

You won't need a skimmer on a 10g as long as you do weekly PWCs.

So basically for my 10 gallon reef I need

-filter (btw what type?)
-power head
-live sand
-live rock
-lighting (what kind?)
-heater

Anything else I'm missing?

-treated water (is it the same as treating freshwater)
-salt