Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-16-2004, 02:02 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin TX not boston
Posts: 495
Send a message via AIM to mhaynes01
cool cant wait
__________________

__________________
mhaynes01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 01:18 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 711
Alright, after a couple days of planning, measuring, and building, my wet/dry box is now fully functional. I had good luck on my side that after the box was in, the siphon was flowing and the pump was pumping, I was able to fit the UV sterilizer and protein skimmer under there like a jigsaw puzzle - barely. The whole thing turned out pretty well and is actually pretty quiet. I patched a minor crack in the box that had a very slow drip, drilled the siphon relief holes which appear to work fine - and all is well.

It took a while to get the inlet valve coordinated perfectly with the outlet pump, but the water level in the box is now pretty consistent. After setup I realized that I should have had 2 valves at the end of the inlet pipe so that 1 can always be tuned to the pump, and 1 can be used as a shut-off valve (without having to use your adjusted valve as a shut-off).

The last problem that is bothering me is that if I lose power for even a few minutes, my siphon will break and the pumps will stop. Fine. But when the power returns, the pump will run until the filter box is dry and the siphon won't be pumping - and I'll likely come home to find a burned-up filter pump. This is a problem because the electrical service in my area is poor to say the least. It'll be a cool, clear autumn day, not a cloud in the sky - suddenly the power will go out for 20 minutes.

So my latest question - Can I get a power strip or some kind of adapter that must be reset upon receiving power from the source again? This way when the power returns, the pump will not start until I turn the pump back on again.

I'll feel much better about the wet/dry when I put this last failsafe in place. Pics coming soon.
__________________

__________________
Clown Monarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
125 gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 55 is up and running motherspice Show Off/Photography 1 10-09-2008 07:34 PM
Up and running.... MurfQ Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 01-23-2007 02:41 PM
Okay, QT is up and running . . . toddwess Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 09-05-2003 11:20 PM
up and running!! Freshwater & Brackish - Coldwater, Native Fish & Ponds 3 03-26-2003 08:25 AM
The 55 is running... sunsplash76 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-03-2002 01:22 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.