15g build questions (hermit crabs)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CuriousCrabGuy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Good afternoon folks,
I'm interested in starting a 15g nano-reef, but have some important questions to ask before I take the plunge. I've posted this in the nano-reef forum as well, but there seems to be far more people (and thus advice) in this questions forum.

My goal:
I hope to have a (relatively) self-sustaining 15g nano-reef with two or three species of hermit crabs living happily within. I'm a touring musician, and I don't want to get it setup unless I know my little buddies will be safe and happy on their own for severals days at a time.

Questions:
- What equipment will I need for a 15g nano-reef setup?
- Is it possible for two or three species of hermit crabs to live in a 15g nano-reef?
- What items/living rock(s) will I need to create a (relatively) self-sustaining environment for multiple hermit crabs?
- Do saltwater hermit crabs enjoy climbing on terrain? (I am looking at a taller 15g tank setup and love designing unique environments.)
- What's the best way to check for sickness or disease before transferring new livestock into your nano-reef?

I have a 12 gal CAD nano setup in my office and I love it. It is a super heavy duty tank with nice lights and a built in 3 chamber fuge. Given that it is an open tank my evaporation is quite large around 8oz a day I would guess.

Your equip will be based on what you are going to put in the tank. You mention nano reef so I am assuming some types of corals. That will require some specific lighting based on what stock you want to put in. You may want to consider a Bio Cube 14g or something as it will come with everything you need to get started and it is a closed top system as well.