Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-06-2012, 03:40 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
1st 10 gallon sump

So I'm making my first sump out of an extra 10 gallon I have laying around. My plans is to put both my hob Skinner and my hob filter on it. Here's my plans. Look OK?

Click image for larger version

Name:	ForumRunner_20121006_133957.jpg
Views:	320
Size:	56.1 KB
ID:	123013
__________________

__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 03:48 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,537
Any reason for having 3 chambers to it? There isn't alot of room in a 10 to work with, I would just have 2 chambers to provide any additional space you might need in the future unless you are planning on having a very tiny fuge.

And you have the bubble trap in the wrong side. You want it going into your return chamber to avoid microbubbles getting into your DT.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:20 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
OK gotcha. The reason I made the first chamber seperate was so I could have the water level high do my hob Skimmer don't splash water. I would make the water level in the entire fuge high but I'm worried if the power goes out how much water will drain into the sump and maybe flood.
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:38 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
How much water drains into your sump depends on the overflow and the output pipes. For example, if they are faced all the way down there will be a lot going into the sump. If they are pointed all the way towards the surface, then not much will go to the sump. I don't know how your plumbing is set up, but that's how it is for me and other people. Test the level out and if the sump looks like it's going to overflow put the pump back on and adjust whatever that needs to be and try it again.
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 09:48 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
Is not set up yet. I haven't even drilled the hole yet. I just ordered a 1 3/4" diamond hole bit and 2" bulkhead. Its an established tank so in still planning on how to drill it.
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 09:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
obscurereef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,301
Yeah I was just saying for the future . Better to test before a power outage...
__________________
“Success is walking from failure to failure with no loss of enthusiasm.”

- Winston Churchill
obscurereef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 10:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
Will a 264 gph pump with 4.6 ft. Head lift be good for my sump return? I can get a REALLY good deal on one.
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:12 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
You want 5-10x overturn thru the sump of the tank volume.
__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
So 264 gph should be good for a 35 gallon tank? The next size up I can get a good deal on is 600 gph.
__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 11:33 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paul87's Avatar

POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 4,267
It would be a little over 7X I think.
__________________

__________________

paul87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10 gallon, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.