Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-04-2011, 09:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 16
2 little fishies phosban reactor

I got a 2 little fishes phosban reactor 4 days ago. Filled it as instructed with NPX bioplastics. Over the next two days my water became very cloudy and my green star polyps are closed up. They are still extended but closes. Zoas seem to be doing well and fish are all happy but water is very cloudy. I added the reactor because I have been having a bad hair algae problem. After the water kept getting cloudy I unplugged the pump to he reactor and within a day the water was back to clear again. Yesterday I turned the reactor back on and today the water is cloudy again. Does anyone know why this would happen? How can I stop it? I want to run this reactor to take care of the phosphate problem leading to my algae problem...
__________________

__________________
Bashbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:01 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
did you rinse it out in RO water? you're supposed to pump some water through the media to clean it out so it doesn't release any dust into your system
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 16
No I did not rinse the media first. Is it ok to just let it run and will the dust eventually settle out?
__________________
Bashbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:56 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishbone13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 325
I was think'n about get'n the same reactor. I'm curious as to how this situation turns out for you and if you like the product. Did it say anything in the product reviews about it make'n the water cloudy at first and what they did to remedy it?
__________________
MIke....
Fishbone13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 09:05 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
cmor1701d's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Belle Mead, NJ
Posts: 7,814
Cloudy water is caused by adding too much product in the initial phase. You need to add about a quarter of the total amount needed for your tank, wait a week, add more, wait a week, etc.

I did NOT heed those instructions when I added NP-Biopellets (500ml) to the same reactor in my 125 and did not have a problem. I was an early adopter and only learned of the problem from others posting about it.

It will clear in a few days and over the next few weeks you will see an improvement in water quality.
cmor1701d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 12:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 16
I definately did not ease into the biopellets... In fact im thinking i have too much in the reactor but i am getting good movement and flow through them so i figured why not... if it doesnt help all i did was waste some materials... lesson learned for next time

I will give it a few days to see if the water clears up. I am just concerned about my GSP as they have shown great extension and opening since i got them and now they just dont look happy. :-( i will keep you updated.
__________________
Bashbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 02:56 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 681
Make sure the media is moving VARY slowly or it will grind and not work. I have the same thing but use phosban midia. The plastic doesn't do that well.
__________________
Codyheitmiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 07:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Fishbone13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 325
What is the best reactor to buy? Does Two Little Fishies come with the pump and the plumbing and whatnot? I was look'n at one and it just comes with the cartridge. I think it was Phosban. I'm not sure but what would be the best one to get? And what else needs to be purchased along with it?
__________________
MIke....
Fishbone13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 08:22 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
hackteck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,628
Send a message via AIM to hackteck
the two little fishes one doesnt come with a pump but it comes with everything else you need
__________________
hackteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 08:29 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 16
BYO-media as well
__________________

__________________
Bashbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phosban Reactor bavass General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 04-20-2010 10:40 AM
PhosBan Reactor madlynb General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 05-14-2009 10:45 PM
PHOSBAN REACTOR choupic Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 08-16-2006 01:59 PM
PhosBan Reactor ASpec Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 5 03-24-2005 02:12 PM
Phosban Reactor 150 awillemd1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-03-2005 08:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.