Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-14-2015, 12:25 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
20 gallon reef leak!!!!

Just found out the bottom of my tank is leaking. What should I do? I have a freshwater 36 gallon which I can switch it to and just move the freshwater to a ten gallon. If I do that do I need to buy new equipment like powerheads, protein skimmer or new lights. Help please!!!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
I know the petco near me is having their dollar per gallon sale, check near you may be able to do a quick swap out with minimal disruption to your current setup


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
If I wanted to upgrade to a 40 gallon, I would need to buy new equipment for everything right?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:03 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
Depends on what equipment you have and what it's rated for, more information always helps


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:09 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
72 watt t5 lighting
2 koralia 425
Heater I would need to get a new one.
Aquaclear filter(planning to buy protein skimmer anyway...
Do i need to buy more sand too? I have twenty pounds. Should i buy an extra and add it with the previous sand?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 01:46 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
72 watt T5 Lighting would vary greatly depending on the light. I think your power heads are fine unless your keeping sps. I would not reuse sand it would most likely end badly. Just buy new sand and save on the hassle.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 04:08 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
I agree with TK best to go fresh on the sand and use a hand full or two of the old stuff to seed the new sand, but back to the point how bad is the leak in the twenty gallon that's currently running?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 08:21 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
The leak isn't too bad. Maybe a half gallon a day is leaking out


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 10:23 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
manbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 916
Just enough to justify an upgrade, sounds like you might need to upgrade the light as well, protien skimmers aren't absolutely necessary if you keep up with the water changes but they are convenient to have


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
manbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2015, 12:46 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
4127john's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: New jersey
Posts: 246
Ugh midterms are coming up and sooo busy with the tank and work. The lighting I probably have to save up money first. Protein skimmer is my priority right now. My corals aren't really light demanding anyway so i can get the lights later on


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
4127john is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
20 gallon, gallon, leak, reef

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the 180 gallon tank I built leak/break once I fill it? sgossett9 DIY Projects 18 12-16-2010 12:42 PM
Help! 4000 gallon tank leak. raiyan DIY Projects 37 12-14-2010 04:34 AM
Repairing a leak in a 30 gallon aquarium DinoManDraves General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-01-2010 10:23 PM
My 29 gallon Oceanic BioCube has a leak. Prinzessin Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 03-29-2010 03:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.