Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-17-2012, 10:00 PM   #131
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 744
I made a totally stupid rookie mistake this evening while "attempting" to dose ammonia. With a slip of the hand I dosed my tank up to about 10 ppm I now need to do a major water change. Unfortunately, I decided to be a cheapskate and not get my own rodi unit, please all rookies learn from this and go ahead and get your own rodi unit. Now I have to try to work going and getting rodi water from my lfs into my schedule. What a pain!
__________________

__________________
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:06 PM   #132
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
You can try Walmart, they usually have those water machines to fill your 5g jugs. If you have to do it tonight. Just an idea
__________________

__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:11 PM   #133
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 744
This may work. I have to go get some dog food tonight anyways. I will check on this.
__________________
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:14 PM   #134
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 744
How horrible of an idea would it be to use conditioned tap water for this tonight, since I will be doing a large water change at the end of the cycle to lower nitrates. How bad of an idea is this?
__________________
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:16 PM   #135
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 432
I would still recommend the machine, but...

The conditioner won't take out the phosphates in the water, just the chlorine. You might and prob will have a cyano or hair algae issue at some point. Just sayin...
__________________
Rosesrblu1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:20 PM   #136
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I would recommend against using tap water, get some RO from Walmart or distilled or RO/DI from the LFS.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:26 PM   #137
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bigbanker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 1,381
Just curious would the super high ammonia not allow the tank to cycle?
__________________
It is a fish eat fish world!

Sometimes learning from the mistakes of others is all the education and experience you need.
bigbanker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:34 PM   #138
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigbanker View Post
Just curious would the super high ammonia not allow the tank to cycle?
Perhaps, however, from my limited experience though I once dosed a 36 bowfront up to about 8 ppm and two weeks later there was no change in anything in the tank. If it did cycle the tank you would have a hell of a biofilter.
__________________
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 10:39 PM   #139
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Don't you have some live rock in there? That high of ammonia will likely fry any life that was left on it.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 11:01 PM   #140
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rhino's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cookeville, TN
Posts: 744
Quote:
Originally Posted by reefrunner69
Don't you have some live rock in there? That high of ammonia will likely fry any life that was left on it.
Yup had about two pounds....I am sure it is done for....
__________________

__________________
Rhino is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, long, reef, reef build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.