220 Gallon Reef-Build Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
I have the same thing... that way if I want to shut my system down but I don't want the water in the DT to drop till the siphon breaks, I just close the valves.

My thought exactly. Think of it as a fail safe, in the event anything starts to go crazy and I need to shut down the system, it is as simple as shutting two valves. Then I am free to work on anything in the sump or fuge I need to without disturbing anything in my DT.

It's cool, feel free to follow along. I am by no means an expert, but I am going to do my best to piece this thing together.

I bought my lights! I have to pick them up tonight, if the woman would hurry and call me to come get them. Current USA 3x MH 72" fixture with lunar LED's, 175 bucks!

So since its all the rage today, what are you doing for substrate? Going with a dsb or just regular? I'm going with the pool filter sand myself. Figure I'll save $200!

DSB, like in my 65gallon. Less maintaining needed, and better natural filter.

What substrate did you use for your current dsb? Have you actually seen a difference? I run 0 trates now and I have like 1 inch to 2 inches...

Yeah, I hated it. I am asking Mr. X about the play sand before I decide to use it. I was planning on using aragonite sand.

Yeah I know, I agreed to buy them, but the woman hasn't sent me her address so I can go get them.

I couldn't tell you the actual specifics of the bulbs. They are just small T5 bulbs, like I said the tank was a freshwater setup I got for free. lol I will look later, thanks for the compliments, I need to clean it up a little more, but it is night and day from before I started.