Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2011, 03:08 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
0o.Kelsey.o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,526
Just found the tang dead i had him in with the base rock and the power head i had in their malfunctioned and started sucking instead of blowing...he got sucked up im so sad he had such a good trusting personality.
__________________

0o.Kelsey.o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 05:53 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
nxb161's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: PA
Posts: 737
awww. sorry to hear that.... I'm in the middle of a mini-move right now. Only 29G tank, and only moving it 50' away. I completed the move part, just about ready to move my fish, which are in bags floating in my other tank, to float in their tank so I can acclimate them...
__________________

__________________
~Nick
nxb161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2011, 07:31 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 771
I have never heard on a powerhead doin that. I wouldn't think it was possible they are magnets, wouldn"t it have to reverse polarity to do that?
__________________
Sqasnatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 02:45 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
0o.Kelsey.o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,526
Yes i miss the little guy already Sucks when you try so hard to keep something alive and then a silly power head kills him in an instant.

I don't know...it keeps on doing it still though. I find it sucking so i unplug it and plug it back in and its blowing correctly and then next time i check the stupid thing is sucking again! There are no other fish in that bin right now but the power head will be moved back to the display when its all set up again. I don't think it was sucking before in the display but i guess there is no way to really be sure.
0o.Kelsey.o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:56 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
PrettyFishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 1,689
Sounds like you have to ditch that PH
__________________
125 gal mixed REEF
PrettyFishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:33 AM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 771
Send it to NASA
__________________
Sqasnatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 10:28 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Smitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 1,206
If the PH is having problems now I wouldn't trust it back in the tank. I would ditch it and get a new one. No since in risking any other lives on a "hope it doesn't do it again".
__________________
Smitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:26 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
0o.Kelsey.o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 1,526
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sqasnatch View Post
Send it to NASA
hahaha

Yah it might get ditched, it has currently stopped reversing itself but there is definitely a chance it could happen again. It is fairly new so maybe our LFS will exchange it.

We got about 6 inches of water in the tank yesterday and all the sand. Took a good 4 hours of rinsing sand. We kept some of it in a heated bucket but some was rinsed with freshwater....causing everything to die and rot...bad ideaaa. Had to be rinsed pretty much in ice cream bucket sizes to get it actually clean. We rinsed the stuff we kept live in some old saltwater that we weren't planning on adding to the tank. Going to add more water today and the baserock, possibly take this chance to add more new sand as well. No leaks so far!
0o.Kelsey.o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 10:28 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tim Wheatley's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Frankfort, IL
Posts: 1,342
Best of luck. It's been really interesting to hear about your progress. It was the fear of having to go through all this that stopped me buying a second hand tank the other day and buying a new one instead.
__________________
My Fish Videos | My Fish Photos
Tim Wheatley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 11:58 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ontario
Posts: 771
Did you take pics of the repair process.?
__________________

__________________
Sqasnatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
60 gallon, leak

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will the 180 gallon tank I built leak/break once I fill it? sgossett9 DIY Projects 18 12-16-2010 12:42 PM
Help! 4000 gallon tank leak. raiyan DIY Projects 37 12-14-2010 04:34 AM
Repairing a leak in a 30 gallon aquarium DinoManDraves General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 09-01-2010 10:23 PM
My 29 gallon Oceanic BioCube has a leak. Prinzessin Saltwater Reef Aquaria 19 03-29-2010 03:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.