Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-16-2015, 08:40 AM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
What kind of footprint are we dealing with? How about the height under the stand? I suggest a skimmer rated for 1.5 to 2 times your total system volume. Look for air draw- the more air a skimmer pump pulls, the better.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 09:33 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 76
I have about 26" from the bottom of the sump to the bottom of the aquarium. The sump is 18 deep x 36 long x 17 tall. The chamber I was hoping to put the sump in is 17 x 11 x 17 tall. The entire stand is 84 x 24 x 32. I don't know what kind of equipment I am going to run yet but I know I need a skimmer to start. I'm just having trouble choosing one there are many opinions and many sizes. Although it seems the bigger you go the less choices I can find. Maybe I'm not looking at the right places though?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Talon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 10:01 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
265 gallon build

http://www.bulkreefsupply.com/reef-o...n-skimmer.html

Looks like it will just fit your footprint...

You'll want to look for something rated around for a 500 gallon system.
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 10:18 AM   #44
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
That's a good skimmer right there.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 03:13 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 76
So I finally got the tank filled and plugged in the pump. The pump is over powering my overflows. There is no drop of water in the overflows. Is there any way to slow down the pump? If not I guess I need to buy a new smaller one. I can't drain anymore water then I already am. At least I had no leaks


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Talon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 03:16 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
You can put a ball valve on the pump return line to throttle it down a bit. How many gallons per hour is your pump, and what size plumbing are your overflows and how many do you have?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 03:20 PM   #47
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 76
I have 2 one inch overflowsClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1439749156.031544.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	151.1 KB
ID:	276673
The pump is 35.6 gallons per minute with one inch plumbing also


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Talon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 03:22 PM   #48
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Why do you think it's overpowering it? If it was overpowering it, then water would be coming up and back out of the overflow into the tank, and the raise the water level of the tank itself...

If it's not doing that I think you're ok, you might just have a lot of water in your system.

What's the level in the sump return chamber doing when the pump is on?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 03:23 PM   #49
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Talon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 76
The pump wasn't running in the picture



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Talon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 03:26 PM   #50
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
How long have you left the pump on for? Have you tried to just let it go until the water gets to the top of the overflow?
__________________

__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
5 gallon, 65 gallon, build, gallon

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Considering turning my 265 gallon bar build into a reef tank JraGold Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 09-29-2014 10:30 PM
265 gallon peacock/hap tank filtration JraGold Cichlid Discussion 4 07-30-2013 07:36 PM
Filtration on a 265 gallon aquarium JraGold Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-30-2013 01:52 AM
New (to me) 265 Gallon Acrylic Tank Keimaxbode Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 04-28-2013 09:40 AM
New 265 Gallon Tank ZBT3091 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 03-22-2005 06:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.