Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-27-2012, 02:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

3 gallon pictope/6 gallon fluval edge reef

after i get my 20 gallon freshwater done im planning on starting a 3 gallon jbj pictope reef or a 6 gallon fluval edge im new to saltwater im not sure what i will need fliltration light ect i want it to be cheap like under 150 or so and id like it to be simple have any thoughts

Old 10-27-2012, 02:58 PM   #2

i want low light corals mushrooms ect not high light corals and i want to put 1 fish like a goby

Old 10-27-2012, 03:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak

I was thinking about doing this as well.
Old 10-27-2012, 04:51 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishman1995
after i get my 20 gallon freshwater done im planning on starting a 3 gallon jbj pictope reef or a 6 gallon fluval edge im new to saltwater im not sure what i will need fliltration light ect i want it to be cheap like under 150 or so and id like it to be simple have any thoughts
Old 10-27-2012, 05:12 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

You could always try to find a bargain on craigslist. 3 and 6 gallons for SW is especially hard for beginners. You have such a small volume of water that if you were to make a mistake like add too much salt or overfeed, there would be major consequences. In a larger tank like a 55 or 70, the system would be more forgiving so to speak. I recommmend a 10 or 20 which will probably not break your budget.