Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 03-07-2009, 04:27 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Melbourne, FL
Posts: 32
500 ml or 2 liters to jump start my pod population?

I want to get a good jump start on my pod population. i recently set up my 220 mixed reef with 250-300lbs lr and 160lbs live sand (i also have some chaeto and lr in my sump). i want to get a good start on my pod population because i want to add a mandarin in a few months. i was going to place an order with Sachs' for live copepods but i wasn't sure if i should get 500ml or 2 liters. is 500 ml enough? if i get 2 liters (which i probabally will) is it possible to have too many copepods?

also, do you have to acclimate them or anything or just dump them in water and all?


launch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2009, 08:36 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
sooju's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pleasantville, NY
Posts: 257
IMO You can't have too many.

When they arrive just float the bag for 10-15 minutes to bring it to temp and then pour it in! You can split it between your fuge and main tank if you want.

sooju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 04:15 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
MarineFlake's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Memphis, Tn
Posts: 816
Just as a note, I had great success with pods setting up in the cheato in my tank. It needs to be a protected area, allowing them to proliferate without being consumed or sucked into pumps/skimmers before they can reproduce. As for too many, if you are considering a mandarin, I would agree, you can't have too many : )

Happy Reefing!
To fail to plan is to plan to fail.
MarineFlake is offline   Reply With Quote


Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will FW bacteria seeded media jump start a SW tank cycle? SCFatz Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 07-06-2006 06:02 PM
Filter Sponge from old tank to jump start new cycle? Legacy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 01-01-2006 05:00 PM
Could the pod population in a 120 gal.... runway1 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 12-25-2005 10:44 PM
New tank: jump start cycle with bio wheel in existing tank? twestrope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 11-02-2005 03:54 PM
Jump Start Cycle equinecpa Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 8 09-21-2004 11:36 PM

» Photo Contest Winners

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.