Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 10-28-2013, 10:40 PM   #1

75 gallon reef tank: no sump or skimmer. Should I use 2 smaller filters or 1 big one?

I'm starting up my tank soon but I'm not going to get a sump or skimmer for about 6 months. Should I use 2 smaller filters to put on each end or should I use one big filter? Open for anything so please give me all the info you can for I'm still learning.

Old 10-28-2013, 11:31 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

If you keep your stock light you would get away with just using your live rock (aim for around 75 pounds) and plenty of flow - weekly water changes 10% your tank will cycle for a couple of months anyway so take it slow and that would work...

Old 10-28-2013, 11:39 PM   #3

So I shouldn't even get a filter??
Old 10-29-2013, 12:50 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

Live rock acts as your filter. Powerheads will push water over the very porous live rock causing bacteria to grow all over it. Live rock even offers deeper pockets where anaerobic bacteria can consume nitrates as well.
Old 10-29-2013, 12:51 AM   #5

Don't I still need a filter for the tank?
Old 10-29-2013, 12:54 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

It's not necessary. I don't run one on my 20g reef and many people don't use actual filters on their tanks either. Some people do run filter socks on their sumps for mechanical filtration although I don't do that either.
Old 10-29-2013, 12:56 AM   #7

But we are talking about a 75 gallon reef
Old 10-29-2013, 01:07 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion