Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-21-2004, 10:12 PM   #11
God of primitive fishes
 
Toirtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 8,163
Send a message via MSN to Toirtis Send a message via Yahoo to Toirtis
You have the flow rate cut right down, I assume. I cannot imagine trying to run an AC500 on a 10...or even a 15...short of some sort of surface/subsurface baffle where the outflow is, I cannot imagine any way around your problem that will actually work and not just direct the energy in a slightly different direction.
__________________

__________________
G. A. Christian Bilou, Herpetologist
Founder/Director, Reptile Rescue Alberta
Past-President, Calgary Aquarium Society
www.calgaryaquariumsociety.com
Toirtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 10:24 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
I was just wondering because the filter isn't designed for that. Ellisz I don't know if that would work as the 500 is the biggest in that line of filters
__________________

__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2004, 11:53 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 536
I understand that it is the same motor on a bunch of the ACs. Some of the nanoguys use large ACs as fuge and put an impeller from a smaller model in. Jeff
__________________
In theory there should be no difference between theory and practice. In practice, there is.
Cafe Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 12:08 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
you can switch the 150 with the 300 but the 500 is a totally different size. I have one of each of them 150,300 and 500
__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 12:10 AM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Sounds like you know the answer

Have you been to nano-reef.com? I thought some use the 500 on 10's but I know it is a HUGE filter.

Good luck
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 12:15 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
nanoreef.com is a pretty cool website. I have stolen and enlarged a couple of ideas from there including my custom hob refugium
__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 12:18 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 428
Send a message via AIM to nodoubt471
yea thats where i got the idea from, i have a baffle in the filter itself to prevent the refugium sand and macro from being blown out... but i honestly didnt think about the output being too strong, which i guess was kind of dumb.

i thoguht about switching the impeller from the 300 or whatever, but like you said they are completly different sizes.

ill check out nano reef again i guess... thanks guys for the ideas. if i cant figure nething else out, ill try what you did edmonton
__________________
~*Kate*~
nodoubt471 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 12:20 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
I'm telling you it was super easy and I really think it will solve your problem.
__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 10:48 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 61
Try adding the surface skimmer. Slowed my AC500 down enough to keep the sand from moving around in my 10gal.
__________________
skipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2004, 11:43 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Toronto
Posts: 536
Speaking of the surface skimmer, how do people like this product. It seems like using an AC as a fuge with the surface skimmer attachment could be a decent, economical setup on a small system. Jeff
__________________

__________________
In theory there should be no difference between theory and practice. In practice, there is.
Cafe Jeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aquaclear 500-help Cliffz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 3 02-27-2007 09:06 AM
AquaClear 500 QuietDusk General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 08-13-2004 03:36 AM
We have 500 MEMBERS!!! fishfreek Forum Admin & Announcements 1 12-30-2002 12:41 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.