Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-14-2015, 12:15 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
Yes I would do water changes first instead of dosing. even if you dose your calcium might precipitate onto your heaters or power heard before the coral can consume it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
And do I necessarily need to have the calcium at the levels recommended? I only have this one acan so after a water change I should test the water to see if it has increased? If it isn't higher than usual then do I dose?
__________________

__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 12:22 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 73
With your calc so low one wc won't be enough to increase it to the 400s. If you want you could do a larger wc and then check how much it has changed. And once again because your system is not that large doing WC is easier than trying to dose. If you want to do dose tho you have to measure every day how much your calc and alk are changing so see what your system is using. And this take weeks to month to get good stable parameters sometimes....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
agfish12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 01:41 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
With your calc so low one wc won't be enough to increase it to the 400s. If you want you could do a larger wc and then check how much it has changed. And once again because your system is not that large doing WC is easier than trying to dose. If you want to do dose tho you have to measure every day how much your calc and alk are changing so see what your system is using. And this take weeks to month to get good stable parameters sometimes....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ok thanks
__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 09:10 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
With your calc so low one wc won't be enough to increase it to the 400s. If you want you could do a larger wc and then check how much it has changed. And once again because your system is not that large doing WC is easier than trying to dose. If you want to do dose tho you have to measure every day how much your calc and alk are changing so see what your system is using. And this take weeks to month to get good stable parameters sometimes....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
+1. For a small tank the WC is the safest way of bringing your water parameter back on track. Then you need to figure out how to control your phosphate. You could be over feeding your acan. Too much waterflow is also a possibility. Once you are on track, I would do 10% weekly rather than 25% bi-weekly for stability reason.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 03:37 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
With your calc so low one wc won't be enough to increase it to the 400s. If you want you could do a larger wc and then check how much it has changed. And once again because your system is not that large doing WC is easier than trying to dose. If you want to do dose tho you have to measure every day how much your calc and alk are changing so see what your system is using. And this take weeks to month to get good stable parameters sometimes....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I just tested my saltwater in my saltwater mixing bin and I noticed that my calcium is at 340 ppm. It seems as if when I do the water changes I might not be putting much calcium in because I guess I am not getting it from my salt. What should I do?
__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 03:55 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 73
What salt are you using? Fresh mixed salt should be much higher than that. What is your test kit you are testing with? Also how long do you mix your salt?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
agfish12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 04:08 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Use a salt mix that's closer to natural sea water.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 05:14 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
The salinity of newly mix salt water dictates the content of calcium on it. Meaning the higher the salinity the more calcium you will get. A low grade salt mix wont give you enough calcium at 1.024 salinity. Most reef keepers prefer it to be at 1.026.
__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 06:51 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
What salt are you using? Fresh mixed salt should be much higher than that. What is your test kit you are testing with? Also how long do you mix your salt?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I am testing with an API test kit. I mix my salt in a 32 gallon brute trash can. I have a heater in it. I fill it with RO/DI water and add salt from the Red Sea Coral Pro Salt for a 1.023 salinity and 420 ppm of calcium. I then use my hand and arm to mix the water. I felt like that is easier than buying a power head. I mixed it last weekend so this weekend I will use it in my water change. Am I doing things wrong?
__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 09:02 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Yes you are doing it wrong. Although the salt mix manufacturer says their salt is a quick mix, it does not mean that you only have to steer the water several times and you're done. After steering, you still need to mix it continuously with a circulating pump for hours or even better overnight. Your new salt water will also have more oxygen when there is surface agitation by the pump. What happens is that after you mix it just with your hand (which is not advisable) most of the salt stays at the bottom and what you are measuring is the lighter mixture at the top.
__________________

__________________
"Nothing great in the world has ever been accomplished without passion". George Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90w86...A434PW3gEa1-QA
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Acan frags cmor1701d New Acquisitions 29 07-15-2008 01:18 PM
Lousy picture of my new acan MsBeanCtr New Acquisitions 9 05-07-2008 12:39 PM
what corals near acan? MsBeanCtr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-01-2008 02:21 PM
GSP keep growing..and growing..and growing afilter Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-28-2006 10:56 PM
Blasto, Acan What are their requirements Brenden Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 12-15-2005 09:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.