Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-19-2015, 09:05 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 73
Usually I mix my salt the morning of my wc let it stir all day with power head and then when I get home from work do the wc


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
agfish12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 09:51 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
Yes you are doing it wrong. Although the salt mix manufacturer says their salt is a quick mix, it does not mean that you only have to steer the water several times and you're done. After steering, you still need to mix it continuously with a circulating pump for hours or even better overnight. Your new salt water will also have more oxygen when there is surface agitation by the pump. What happens is that after you mix it just with your hand (which is not advisable) most of the salt stays at the bottom and what you are measuring is the lighter mixture at the top.
So if I get a powerhead and start mixing the saltwater properly will that I guess dissolve more of the Calvin into the water? I measure the salinity and it is correct. Or I am measuring the salinity at the top of the water column in the bin and below it is not fully dissolved and that is probably the lack of calcium?
__________________

__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 09:53 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 73
Yes power head it to get proper full mix and what are you measuring salinity with a refractometer? Make sure that whatever you are using to measure is calibrated!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
agfish12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 10:33 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
Yes power head it to get proper full mix and what are you measuring salinity with a refractometer? Make sure that whatever you are using to measure is calibrated!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Yes I use a refractometer.
__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2015, 10:35 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 73
Ok so if you can't get a good mix even after mixing with power head. I would change to Instant ocean salt mix. If gives around 420 ppm calcium. I use it and love it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
agfish12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2015, 09:20 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
Red Sea Coral Pro is fine to use. IO's calcium content is not even close to 420ppm. Perhaps you are referring to Reef Crystals, or checking it with a bad test kit.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 07:49 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
Ok so if you can't get a good mix even after mixing with power head. I would change to Instant ocean salt mix. If gives around 420 ppm calcium. I use it and love it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The sides of my scan are turning white. Is this bleaching? Is there anything that could be causing this and ways to stop it?
__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 11:16 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 73
Yes this is bleaching. Where is the acan currently in your tank?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
agfish12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 04:31 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by agfish12 View Post
Yes this is bleaching. Where is the acan currently in your tank?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Like bottom five inches of tank. I did just recently move it, it used to be in a little bit of an overhang but I can't see how it would have gotten shade in this area. Maybe new parts of the acan are being introduced to a little bit higher par? Can it get used to it because I just glued it and I like where it is?
__________________
Nolan99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2015, 05:34 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 73
Maybe wait and see how it does. If it gets worse move it back towards the shady area and slowly move it back out into light over next few weeks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
agfish12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
acan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Acan frags cmor1701d New Acquisitions 29 07-15-2008 01:18 PM
Lousy picture of my new acan MsBeanCtr New Acquisitions 9 05-07-2008 12:39 PM
what corals near acan? MsBeanCtr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 05-01-2008 02:21 PM
GSP keep growing..and growing..and growing afilter Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 06-28-2006 10:56 PM
Blasto, Acan What are their requirements Brenden Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 12-15-2005 09:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.