Acclimating new fish - lots of questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
E

eekball

Newbie here and just finding out all kinds of stuff. Just wanted to get a general consensus on what the best way to acclimate a new fish is.
I understand now I need to get a QT tank.

How do you acclimate a new fish from the LFS to the QT tank?
How long do keep them in there?
Then what?

Also - do you need to keep anything in the QT tank? (i.e. damsels, chromis, inverts? )

Do I use water from my 75 gal SW to set it up?

Sorry to sound so stupid - I really did research before I got a tank. There's just so much stuff that books, LFS, etc. DON"T tell you!
Thanks!

i drip acclimate everything for at least 2 hours. this includes inverts, corals and fish. it may not need to be as long for some corals but, better safe than sorry. your QT tank is a tank to watch the new animal and possibly treat it for parasites and diesease before it has a chance to infect your main tank. i didnt do that, so right now i am dealing with a 8 week QT period to treat my fish for ick. you dont keep inverts in your QT. if you have to treat for ick and use cupramine you will kill them.

just an observation, it looks like from your other posts you cycled your main with damsels. this is no longer the prefered method. a small chunk of raw shrimp will do the same thing with out any fish suffering or dying.

steve r

The *best* way probably the drip system. Temp acclimate them and then put a heater in the bucket used to drip acclimate them.. Making sure to keep the water up to temp while you're acclimating. Here's the link I mentioned in the other post: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showquestion.php?faq=2&fldAuto=18

That being said, I've had good luck so far using the shotglass every 5m, making sure to test water parameters before releasing the animal.