Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-13-2005, 04:26 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Humboldt CA
Posts: 179
Send a message via AIM to makana
Acropora in PC light

is it possible to keep an Acropora sp. coral under PC at the very top of the tank? i got a pink Acro frag and it is at the top opf my 2x55w PC reef. it is all opened and seems like it is happy but i want to know if this will last. will it slowly die-off or just continue to grow but stunted? anyone have any PC acropora experiences??

TIA
__________________

__________________
SAVE A REEF - GROW YOUR OWN!

------------------------------------------------------
29g berlin reef w/ 4.9 wpg and tons of current, 10g sump/fuge, and 12" CPR hang-on refugium
------------------------------------------------------

SUPPORT YOUR REEF - START A REFUGIUM
makana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 04:44 PM   #2
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Depends on the species. I keep a few different types of montipora that do very well at mid level (12") as well as one blue tip stag. I just fragged a small bit off the stag and elevated it to about 5" from the surface to see what if any differences will occur. Mind you that's @ 4x96w PC and a total of 24" depth.

Many types of SPS can be successfuly kept under PC's, just not many Acropora's. With your tank I would suggest the higher the better. Especially if using the "aqua legs". If on your 29 gal, 2x96w would be more ideal in regards to placement options.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2005, 08:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Normal, IL
Posts: 1,397
Send a message via AIM to xxmoorishmanxx
i had a montipora growing well under 2x65watt pc's as well.

It was near the top bout 8 inchs down from the surface
__________________
xxmoorishmanxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 03:43 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Humboldt CA
Posts: 179
Send a message via AIM to makana
yes we have a M. digitata that is doing more than well under our 2x55w at around missection but recently moved higher.
we dont use those aqua legs so thats not a problem.

so far the Acropora seems to be doing great! we will see if this keeps up...
thanks for the input!
more would be appreciated especially on what to look for as signs of distress.

TIA!
__________________
SAVE A REEF - GROW YOUR OWN!

------------------------------------------------------
29g berlin reef w/ 4.9 wpg and tons of current, 10g sump/fuge, and 12" CPR hang-on refugium
------------------------------------------------------

SUPPORT YOUR REEF - START A REFUGIUM
makana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:53 AM   #5
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Bleaching, excess sliming and browning for the most part. They can be corrected depending on cause. If RTN set in with a small frag, it's usually not salvagable.

How are the water parameters and chemistry?

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Humboldt CA
Posts: 179
Send a message via AIM to makana
params are the same as the tank the R. yuma (RIP) was in...same 29g.
sg: ~1.023
pH: ~8.3-8.4
nitrites/ammonia: 0
nitrates: LOW
calcium: ~420 ppm

the frag seems to be doing great but we will see. what is RTN? my mouse is broken so i cannot scroll over the text to see...

thanks steve!
__________________
SAVE A REEF - GROW YOUR OWN!

------------------------------------------------------
29g berlin reef w/ 4.9 wpg and tons of current, 10g sump/fuge, and 12" CPR hang-on refugium
------------------------------------------------------

SUPPORT YOUR REEF - START A REFUGIUM
makana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2005, 11:47 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 562
The key to keeping sps is plenty of flow, flawless water conditions and high lighting as your aware of. Most tanks with mixed sps and other corals are not running near enough current. My thoughts would be to put in where it gets as much flow as possible in the tank and as high up as well. Keep a close eye on it due to your lighting,it's a little low for what I would consider adequate sps lighting, but not every tank is the same and you have have enough to substain it but growth will be very slow regardless imo. They are some of the more difficult corals to keep so good luck and hopefullly it works out for you.
__________________
150 rr Oceanic, 300 pound lr,250 pounds ls, lps's, polyp's,soft corals, sps's,
Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 11:21 AM   #8
steve-s
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Looks fine...

Quote:
Originally Posted by makana
calcium: ~420 ppm
Alk?

Quote:
what is RTN? my mouse is broken so i cannot scroll over the text to see...
Rapid tissue necrosis. Basically the flesh of the coral literally "melts" off the skelaton.

Cheers
Steve
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 03:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
A little reading on RTN

http://www.reefs.org/library/talklog/eb_jl_111598.html
__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2005, 04:12 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Humboldt CA
Posts: 179
Send a message via AIM to makana
dear god thats horrible!
no my sps look great i think! they are right in the direct flow from the tanks powerheads and return pump. the branching M. digitata has been doing so well there, i put the branching Acropora on the same rock. is this okay> they are acroo the rock but still on the same chunk.
they are the highest thing in the tank and right in the flow (2x 300gph powerheads and the ruturn line pushes about 250gph). my tank has good flow i think but is this good enough for the sps?
i wish i could show a pic or two but i have no digi cam right now...
oh yeah, my alk is good but i dont test it regularly just whne i go to the lfs they test it for me. i must get an alk test asap - whats a good brand?
i plan to use charcoal for a day in the next few (once i buy some) is this good for the sps?

thanks so much!!

thanks!
__________________

__________________
SAVE A REEF - GROW YOUR OWN!

------------------------------------------------------
29g berlin reef w/ 4.9 wpg and tons of current, 10g sump/fuge, and 12" CPR hang-on refugium
------------------------------------------------------

SUPPORT YOUR REEF - START A REFUGIUM
makana is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
light

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are my lights enough for Acropora??? Patroklos Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-15-2009 10:51 AM
New Acropora ryshark New Acquisitions 1 06-22-2008 12:07 PM
help acropora troutman11111 Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 3 11-04-2006 08:56 PM
Acropora RTN birman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-22-2003 01:11 PM
acropora? pomme Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 11-18-2003 12:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.