Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-28-2004, 01:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 412
added a ph...

I just added a maxi jet 1200 to my 60 gal, and all my coral look like they are getting blown around. all my coral were out and seemed happy, but I didn't think I had enough flow through my tank because of ditritus and junk covering my rocks and sand. will the coral get used to this extra flow in some time and stat to come out more? or should i lower the flow some?
__________________

__________________
BBReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 03:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Biggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Panama City FL
Posts: 1,817
What types of coral is this that is getting "blown around".

Is this the only PH in this tank? If so, it may, actually, not be enough.
__________________

__________________
Rodman
Biggen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 04:41 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 869
Send a message via ICQ to jackdp
Is the PH aiming right at any of the corals. Most corals dislike direct laminar flow over them try aiming the the powerheads so they bounce off of the glass or collide with flow from another PH. And as biggen may be suggesting, some corals prefer low flow, what corals are we talking about?
__________________
Brad C.
jackdp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 05:29 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I agree, diffuse the flow
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2004, 09:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
Regardless of whether or not you have enough flow, one way to get all the detritus off your sand is to stir it up occassionally and let your mechanical filtration pick it up out of the water column. I don't have any PHs in my tank, and that's how I deal with the issue.

(I know, I know, you're going to say I don't have enough flow, but I have about 12X the tank volume in the return pump from my sump.)
__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2004, 12:09 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 412
i supposedly have about 10x from return pump, but i dont think i get that much. i had the ph just below the water line pointing up so there was no direct flow, but all the corals are LPS, xenia, and shrooms, so all of the fleshy parts were kind of flying around, and the xenia was some what out of control. and moved the ph around putting it lower in the tank and bouncing off the front of the tank, so its not as bad anymore, i just hate the way it looks in there, takes so much away from the tank imo.
__________________
BBReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2004, 03:19 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Do I hear closed loop??
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2004, 06:18 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
BrendanH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 166
fyi- I'm using 3xMJ1200's, 1xAquaclear 201 and the return from my Fluval 404. At first the softies were disturbed but with some trial and error I moved the PHs and corals into good spots. They're doing great now. My tank is a 55g btw.
__________________
BrendanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2004, 02:09 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 412
i wish i could add a closed, but that would require drilling acrylic and i dont want to risk that.
__________________

__________________
BBReef is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LR just added scottytoohottie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-04-2007 09:26 AM
Added some rock... DreamerTheresa Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 10 10-19-2006 08:47 PM
Added some rock!! ferretmath Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 04-03-2006 08:12 PM
What do you think if I added some sand? PauloSilva Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 03-27-2006 07:41 PM
New Fish Added! jhoelter Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-03-2005 04:42 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.