Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-10-2012, 10:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 78
adding instant cycle to established water?

Hey gang,
I'm upgrading my 125g to a 250g. I plan on transferring the 125 gallons of cycled water to the new tank and then want to add the remaining 125g with mixed saltwater with RODI. My question is this, when I'm mixing the new 125 gallons I intend to add to the tank, can I add the instant cycle stuff you buy at the petstore to the mixed water, let it sit overnight, then add to the tank? Or do I mix the water, without the instant cycle stuff, let it sit overnight, add the water, then add the instant cycle stuff to the whole tank?

What would be the best way to do this? Realize, I will have only a half-full 250g tank with coral, fish and live rock and will want to get the system running as soon as possible, for obvious reasons... But cannot run it until the tank is full.
__________________

__________________
stevedpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
crister13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 3,473
It's not the water that cycles, its the surfaces. You could do all new water. It's the rock and sand and glass that hold the bacteria.
__________________

__________________
crister13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 78
Thanks for the input. I realize that, but because half the tank will be "new," do I have to use the instant cycle stuff? According to you, perhaps this is not necessary?
__________________
stevedpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:10 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
I've used bottle bacteria on several fresh tanks and with my new salt setup and completely cycled within 3days if not 24hours.

I think "smart start" is the best, same thing as dr.tims but room temp and cheaper.

But yeah after it's all set up and you have added your new live rock or some of it add the bacteria. It says how much it treats I only ever seen 50gl a bottle at around $13-$14 each
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 78
Excelllent! Thanks so much, I was planning on just adding it after I add the new live rock/live sand. Wait a day or two, then cycle should be done... Thanks again.
__________________
stevedpepper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:15 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. D
I've used bottle bacteria on several fresh tanks and with my new salt setup and completely cycled within 3days if not 24hours.

I think "smart start" is the best, same thing as dr.tims but room temp and cheaper.

But yeah after it's all set up and you have added your new live rock or some of it add the bacteria. It says how much it treats I only ever seen 50gl a bottle at around $13-$14 each
If you can get already cycled rock from your Lfs and that would also help.
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 11:19 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Mr. D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 604
Hope it works out
__________________
Mr. D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:12 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Supra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: South jersey
Posts: 310
Why not fill the new tank with new water 1/2 way and new rock and cycle just the new rock? Then add your rock and water.
Supra
__________________
150g pond koi and comets
125 in wall reef , 55 sump
Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:25 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 79
I thought safe start was for fresh water only. I know dr times makes 2 products 1 for fresh and for salt.
__________________
sim1killa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2012, 07:20 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
You wont need to add anything as it will be like doing a large water change. If you plan on using your old sand/substrate be sure to rinse it very well or you will cause a cycle or nitrAte spike
__________________

__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.