Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-19-2013, 09:57 PM   #11
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 18,543
A fresh mix will be the same as the old plus some nitrates in a fowlr system or a reef would be missing some essential elements. If it is a concern drip acclimation would solve this into the holding bucket.
__________________

Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2013, 12:03 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
I'm so torn now lol
__________________

__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 11:01 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Do not use the sand from your old tank in your new tank. The organisms in the sand will die and foul your water. If you are going to fish less cycle the tank that's ok but do not move everything over if you reuse sand. I made that mistake and lost a fortune in fish and coral.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 11:51 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
TheTodd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Posts: 3,110
You can also rinse the sand to get rid of some of the die off if you use the old sand.
__________________
TheTodd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 01:07 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Alberta canada
Posts: 2,360
Send a message via Skype™ to kdpuffer
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheTodd View Post
You can also rinse the sand to get rid of some of the die off if you use the old sand.
I did that and it didn't help. All the micro organisms and stuff in the sand is near impossible to remove. Like I said before, either do a fish less cycle with the used sand or if you want to put your livestock in right away just buy new sand.
__________________
kdpuffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:43 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdpuffer View Post

I did that and it didn't help. All the micro organisms and stuff in the sand is near impossible to remove. Like I said before, either do a fish less cycle with the used sand or if you want to put your livestock in right away just buy new sand.
How is this so? Ill literally be just swapping tanks, same water, same rocks, same filter and same stock, ill just be adding about 10g of new water like a water change.
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 03:50 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
How long has your tank been just up for tex. just a few months, right. If I'm correct then I don't think there'd be a problem. Just up an eye on your lvls and do water changes if needed.
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:05 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
How long has your tank been just up for tex. just a few months, right. If I'm correct then I don't think there'd be a problem. Just up an eye on your lvls and do water changes if needed.
Yeah a few months, I just picked up an oceanic reef systems 46g bow front and I need to move all my stuff from the 36g over
__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2013, 04:11 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Stlrockguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 1,179
I don't think your sand has a bunch of junk built up in it yet. May see higher then normal nitrates but that's nothing a few decent water changes can't fix
__________________
Stlrockguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 01:50 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Big Tex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Mcallen, Tx
Posts: 1,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlrockguy View Post
I don't think your sand has a bunch of junk built up in it yet. May see higher then normal nitrates but that's nothing a few decent water changes can't fix
well ill pretty much be doing a big water change, adding around 10g of new saltwater to the tank after swapping it all into the new one.
__________________

__________________
Big Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.