Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-29-2007, 06:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
adding live sand

hello all. my no3 is getting out of control. im staying ontop of wc .

i have a 55 reef with 70lbs lr established tank 7 years old.

i have about 2 to 3 inches of sand and a top layer of LS

i want to take the rock out and water and put another 4 inches of live sand ontop. will that spike any no3 or ammonia?

thx
__________________

__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 06:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
What you are describing is a true "deep sand bed". It is a controversial method to hep in NO3 reduction. To my knowledge, there has not been too much empirical evidence to suggest it works all that well. In theory, it is sound. The major problem with DSB is that they can trap pockets of toxic gas and, when released, can foul your water. If you are looking at this as a solution to your NO3 elevation I suggest exploring the possible causes before your resort to a DSB. test source water and freshly mixed SW for NO3 and evaluate your food, as well as feeding frequency and technique. What livestock is currently in the tank and what are your current NO3 levels?
__________________

__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 07:34 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
ok . i have one eiblie angel and a coral banded shrimp many mushrooms and button polyps.

my current no3 reading is about 50 ppm. and growing. i did a 20 gallon wc yesterday. i tested the water i was putting in and it was 0


i just went to the pet store where my buddy works at he tested a fresh sample for no3 and it was at 0 could my tester be screwy ? i have the salwater master test kit by aquarium pharmaceuticals he used the same test kit that i have.
__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 10:59 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
It is possible your kit has expired. I believe they have an expiration date on the bottles.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:12 PM   #5
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
I would have it tested at another place to be sure. How often are doing your PWC`s and as Brian asked have you tested your PWC water for nitrates.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 01:55 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
ok so i used my friends same exact test kit and it reads 10- 20 i think my tester is inop. . as for my pwc it tests 0

i just started to get back on my pwc last week after a long time not doing it ..

when i did do it i dug the syphon tube into the sand and alot of dark water came out into the drain bucket. i thought maybe i had released alot of toxic gas in my dsb is why my no3 went up .. but now im more leaning toward my tester malfunctioning
__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 03:08 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Hmmm....I don't know about you guys but when I do PWC I take the water out of my sump and not the display tank. I have NEVER syphoned water out of the sand bed before. MorayMadness, do yuo have a sump, fuge? What kind of filtration are you using? Also the lack of doing PWCs contributed to your problem. PWCs are something that should really be done regularly. My thoughts....HTH
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 03:28 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 59
for filtration i use my sand bed 70 lbs lr and a simple mechanical filter.

i have a protein skimmer and in the return i have chaeto.
i take water right out of my display for i do not have a fuge or sump i did once but the plumbing got screwy and didnt have enough money for another pump system but is in the works. i now am getting on my PWC i am doing about 15 gallons a week. thats about more than 20 percent since my 55gallon is dense with lr and sand for volume.

thx !
__________________
MorayMadness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2007, 03:31 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I think you are doing great. There are some folks that like to vacuum their sand. Personally, I don't. I think a good selection of sand stiring critters will help keep the sand clean.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
live, live sand, sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding live sand wolfmanbean Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 11-30-2009 10:19 PM
adding live sand ?? oldfishead Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 11-30-2007 06:10 PM
Adding More Live Sand Scoot Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 04-12-2006 03:13 PM
Adding live sand? -- live rock aquascape also dansemacabre Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 03-16-2004 12:14 AM
Adding More Live Sand two11devan Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 08-21-2003 11:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.