Adding new live rock to an established tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Garrett706

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm wanting to add some live Rock to my tank, my LFS has live rock in their tanks for sale and of course they just tell you buy it and throw it I which I'm pretty sure wouldn't be to good of an idea.

What is the proper way to introduce new live rock without a QT?

I'm by no means an expert, but I do know this... CHECK IT WELL. I added about 25 more pounds to my tank last week and come to find out, one of the rocks is infested with aptasia. :banghead:

Run it in a QT tank for a while, make sure any die off is gone, and that it isn't infested with any little critters.

Any container that'll hold water will do. When I added more rock to my 55, I put it in an old keg orator with a pump and heater. Keep it going for a month and test levels. Even if there was no die off from the original rock, a 'cure' period will at least ensure as few baddies get in.

+1 go get a Rubbermaid tub and put the rock in there with a powehead and a Heater.

I just started curing a bunch of dead dry rock my uncle had in his garage for 2 years. For the first fill up I used the tank water from my water change. I'll do 100% water changes the first few times and rearrange it and inspect it.

In a month or so, when ammonia and nitrite is zero I'll put it in the tank and sump

With yours since it is already partially "alive" I would inspect it closer to see what hitchhikers you may have.

This is the tub I used its 22 gallons

image-2744317636.jpg

I've started adding more as not long upgraded and get from lfs cured rock but only add bit at time and its been ok so far so. ill say little at time and you should see not spikes

live rock