Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-21-2004, 09:42 AM   #1
EBR
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Maryland
Posts: 140
Adding Overflow to a 55 gal

Hi Everyone --
Is there any way to add an overflow to a tank? I've got a 55 gal that I used with a FW, and am reusing it for SW. Perfectly good tank, although I am now seeing how an overflow would be really nice, since mine is starting to get that surface slick. Any suggestions?
Thanks.
Matt
__________________

__________________
EBR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 10:46 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Black River Falls, WI
Posts: 151
Send a message via Yahoo to Wally
I am very happy with the americle http://petsolutions.com/product.asp?pn=11800209 I use a Mag5 return pump through a spray bar and get great circulation. HTH
__________________

__________________
Wally

The more I learn the less I know
Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 11:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Danville, Indiana
Posts: 753
Send a message via AIM to brndfrb
This is the one that i have that i got from premiumaquatics. Very good place cheap prices high qualiy stuff. http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merch...egory_Code=MLA

And i have a sen 700 return pump for my 65 gallon
__________________
brndfrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 06:42 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
Overflow box

I used a CS50 to create an overflow from my 30Gal into a sump I added. They also make larger sizes of the same product.(http://www.premiumaquatics.com/thestore/prods/CS50.html) for more info.

Using an overflow box is the easiest way to add an overflow as you don't have to drill any holes in your tank. However, always keep in mind how your system is going to behave if the siphon action of the overflow were to stop for any reason...

I use a float switch to kill the return pump anytime the water level suggests that something odd is going on.

Float switch went off for the first time ever just this morning. A snail had crawled into the overflow. He didn't stop the flow, but cut it back enough that the float switch said "something is wrong".
__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 09:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Highland Illinois
Posts: 556
Send a message via Yahoo to kribbz
you could take it to a glass shop and have them drill a hole for you in the glass so you don't have to mess with any sort of syphon.
__________________
"The brighter you are, the more you have to learn."
-Don Herold
kribbz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2004, 10:41 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Quote:
Originally Posted by kribbz
you could take it to a glass shop and have them drill a hole for you in the glass so you don't have to mess with any sort of syphon.
This would be your best option. You would probably have to have it drilled in the back glass though as most 55gal and up tanks have tempered glass bottoms and cannot be drilled. You could either have it drilled at the level you wanted the water to stay or you could have it drilled low and install an internal overflow box to regulate the level. This would essentially make it a "reef ready" tank.
If you do go with an external overflow, I like the U tube types best. This one looks good to me as suggested above.
http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merch...egory_Code=MLA

It says they are out of stock though. You might check with Darin at Captive Reefs or I can see if I can get you one through my wholesaler if that's what you decide to go with.
The external siphon type offers easy installation and quick setup...takes about 5 minutes to get it going. It has a higher potential for a mess though if the siphon ever fails. The internal will take up a little more room inside the tank, will take longer to set up as you'll have to have the tank drilled and silicone in an internal overflow, but it will cut the chances of the tank running over to almost 0. I would say the prices will be pretty close on either method.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 01:26 AM   #7
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
I know a guy with a used CPR overflow i could put yopu in touch with. He is in bridgeport connecicut.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 09:15 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Black River Falls, WI
Posts: 151
Send a message via Yahoo to Wally
CPR

How does the CPR overflow act in a power failure? Does it require a power head to be hooked up to it in order to maintain the syphon?
__________________
Wally

The more I learn the less I know
Wally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 11:48 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
How does the CPR overflow act in a power failure? Does it require a power head to be hooked up to it in order to maintain the syphon?
Yes. They need a powerhead to restart the syphon. A very bad design in my book.

I like U tube style overflows like the one that americale sells or the ones here www.lifereef.com

I have the life reef double overflow on my 80 gal tank and it runs great.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 01:34 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
CPR overflow..

The CPR is designed so that the siphon won't break in the event of a power failure. Nevertheless, the powerhead is there to ENSURE it starts no matter what. It is also my experience that siphons tend to accumulate air even when running normally, which can eventually break the siphon action. The powerhead removes this accumulation also.

In my books, an overflow supplemented by a RVT powerhead is a better way to go than a simple tube.

No doubt, the preferred way to go is to drill the tank...but that wasn't an option in my case.
__________________

__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding an Aquarium Chiller to my 77 gal fresh water tank ? bigblue736 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 03-16-2007 07:14 PM
Adding new bulkhead/overflow? ken_wied General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 02-18-2007 12:08 AM
Adding a fuge to a 55 gal? sedonawrx Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 6 06-22-2006 11:40 AM
10 Gal established tank. Advice on adding fish. DMalone780 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 11 06-05-2005 11:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.