Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-09-2012, 11:56 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sunny South Florida
Posts: 274
Adding sand

I want to add sand to my tank. It has been cycled and has fish in it. I want to rinse the sand, but how do I do it. I've read to use a hose till the water runs clear. So, tap water to rinse the sand? That doesn't sound right.
Any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Spotted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 12:14 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
How much sand are you going to add? How much sand is already in your tank?

You can go ahead and rinse with tap water. If it's not much you're adding, I would probably rinse it in a 5g bucket under the bath tub faucet. Swirl the sand with your hand/arm while the faucet is on. Once the water starts to run clear you should be fine. For extra precaution you can then do a quick final rinse with RODI water if you want.
__________________

__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 12:38 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sunny South Florida
Posts: 274
It is a 120 gallon 48X24X25.
I have 80# in it now. I want to double it. The bottom looks a little bare. From time to time the power heads will expose the glass.
So it's ok to use tap? Final rinse with RO/DI make me feel better.
Thanks!
__________________
Spotted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 03:13 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
AquaRick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northern CA
Posts: 2,638
If you're using live sand, don't wash it. But if it's PFS or play sand yeah, it's going to need a good wash. Tap will be fine. I don't think the sand will need the RODI rinse, but if anything it will put you at ease
__________________
225G Reef Upgrade
AquaRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 05:50 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 34
to add without clouding your water fill a small cola bottle almost full with sand then fill to the top with tank water then if you pour carefully not too far from the aquarium floor the sand will flow out and the small fine particles will float up and be trapped in the bottle.
sand i found is the way forward plants love it an if you get an aqua vac fish waste sits on top making it easy to clean just give it a poke an swirl every now and again as it can trap ammonia bubbles.
have fun
__________________
lee1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Step By Step: How to add Sand to your Freshwater Aquarium micaiah12 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 12-30-2011 03:05 PM
adding sand fishdud Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 12-13-2011 12:25 AM
Adding more live sand? jamesd28 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 11-23-2011 10:23 AM
Adding more sand Chris22 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-15-2011 09:35 AM
Sand - the right one for my aquarium Ann7667 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-28-2011 02:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.