Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-15-2012, 04:51 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JuanArti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 139
Alright thanks for your help guys!
__________________

__________________
JuanArti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 06:02 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JuanArti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 139
I have barely a 2 inch sad bed at the moment. What do you guys consider a DSB?
__________________

__________________
JuanArti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 08:50 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanArti
I have barely a 2 inch sad bed at the moment. What do you guys consider a DSB?
Depends what you are trying to achieve with a DSB.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:49 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
JuanArti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 139
I want to sustain a watchman goby and idk my tank looks like it doesn't have enough sand.
__________________
JuanArti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 12:52 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanArti
I want to sustain a watchman goby and idk my tank looks like it doesn't have enough sand.
A watchman goby will be fine with 2" of sand. If looks is what your worried about then its always at your discretion to add more.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 04:31 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
JustinKBreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Beaumont, CA
Posts: 512
You can use a piece of pvc pipe and a funnel to get the sand in. More of it should settle when you do that as opposed to just pouring it in. I would also turn off the pumps, more flow means more sand staying suspended in the water column.
__________________
JustinKBreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 03:49 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tyler3533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 188
Would this sand work? Which one would be the best?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3849970179.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	146.7 KB
ID:	106963   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2021847094.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	151.3 KB
ID:	106964  

__________________
Tyler3533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 07:58 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rutrag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,133
I know the play sand is good. What does the label on the quick-Crete bag indicate the sand is made of?
__________________
It is a violation of federal law to use this product in a manner inconsistent with its labelling.
Rutrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2012, 08:17 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Tyler3533's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutrag
I know the play sand is good. What does the label on the quick-Crete bag indicate the sand is made of?
I ended up buying this sand. Was a little less gone. Play sand was to small grain for me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3337316345.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	165.8 KB
ID:	107013  
__________________
Tyler3533 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2012, 12:39 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: CT
Posts: 10
What sort of tank do you have? How big? How much sand do you want to add? Is there sand in it now, and if so how deep?
If no sand now, then I would add it all at once. It will make a big cloudy tank but it will only be once and then done. I think that is less stressful to anything in the tank. I have added sand to many tanks over the years and always just went for it.
If you have sand in there now then it may be a little different story, you don't want to kill what's in there so don't cover the old sand with more than a quarter inch or so.
I have added sand to tanks loaded with coral and never had one problem. Reefs have murky stormy days too! haha.
I never rinse the sand but I know you can cut down on the dust if you do. I put the sand in a ziploc bag drop the bag to the bottom of the tank and slowly empty it.
I have also got a piece of PVC and poured the sand down the PVC pipe to the bottom to get it in to hard to reach areas as well but this can be a pretty messy task lol (sand all over the floor unless you have a great helper).
__________________

__________________
Rgillund is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sand

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.